Top Ten Tuesday – My Favorite Books of 2017

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly blog event hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. And for today’s theme I’m going to talk about my favorite books that were published in 2017.

1. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzie Lee.

Following the bisexual character Monty, this book is a bunch of rollicking fun and adventure. It combines both historical fiction (my favorite genre) and LGBTQA+ (my second favorite genre) characters.  This book makes it to the top of my list because it’s not often you can find a good story about a male bisexual character.

29283884

2. The Hate U Give By Angie Thomas. 

This book definitely lived up to the hype and more. It’s been awhile since a contemporary YA fiction book made me cry, but this book took the cake. I am so so happy that I was able to read it this year. I love it when fiction books are real, and this one is the most real. It talks about the problems black teens face in America today, and it opened my eyes a lot.

32075671

3. A List of Cages By Robin Roe.

This book makes the list for how well it dealt with dyslexia and ADHD, with the added bonus of portraying a really beautiful friendship between the two main characters.

25613472.jpg

4. Strange the Dreamer by Lani Taylor. 

This book makes the list for the absolutely stunning world and writing. I was hesitant to read this one because I haven’t enjoyed many of Taylor’s books in the past. But Strange the Dreamer was a different book, and I throughly enjoyed it.

28449207

5. We Are Okay By Nina LaCour.

A story of love and loss and the relationship of two girls, this book gave me all the feels. I loved the writing style, the characters and story.  It’s definitely high on my list of favorite books ever, and also for books I’ve read this year.

28243032

6. Borne by Jeff Vandermeer.

I wasn’t expecting to like this strange book as much as I did. But it had such a fascinating world, and the writing style both puzzled me and drew me in.

31451186

7. Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia.

This book dealt a lot of with social anxiety, and as someone with a lot of anxiety in general this book felt very personal and it was easy for me to sympathize with Eliza. Though she wasn’t my favorite character of all time, I enjoyed reading this book a lot.

31931941

8. The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli. 

The main character, Molly is one of my favorite characters ever. She’s so real and quirky and funny, and her character is what hooked me from page 1 of this book. This book deals really well with crushes and love and I honestly can’t wait to read it again.

30653853

9. Turtles All the Way Down by John Green. 

Anyone else shocked to see a John Green book on this list? I am! So if you’ve had any hesitation about reading this book, let this be your reason to finally pick it up.  I have hated every single one of Green’s books till this one.  It’s relatable, funny, sad and everything you need in a story.

35504431

10. The Sun and Her Flowers By Rupi Kaur.

And last but not least we have Kaur’s second collection of poetry. This book is slightly less dark than the first one, but just as moving and I throughly enjoyed reading it.

35606560

What are your favorite reads from this year? Don’t forget to leave a link to your TTT post so I can read and comment on it. 🙂 

16 comments

  1. The Hate U Give is one of the books I should have read this year but still haven’t. However, I haven’t heard a single soul not LOVING it, and I have no doubt that I should read it and enjoy as well. I love the spotlight it’s been getting, and all of the themes it touches upon interest me a lot. I shouldn’t postpone it anymore! IT IS GETTING DONE!
    The Gentleman’s Guide was one of my favorite books too! I loved the diversity and how fun the plot was. Mackenzi Lee’s humor is definitely of my style, and I found Monty to be absolutely hilarious. He was my favorite character, actually. I am so glad there will be a spin-off following Felicity. I could not bear the thought that this would be it! I NEED MORE. Also, next time, I’m going to try the audiobook if it’s narrated by the same person when they release future books. I hope so. ❤

    I CANNOT wait to pick up Turtles All The Way Down!! I am so glad that John Green wrote an own voices book that is so close to him and who he is. I will read it.

    Here's my TTT: https://bookslikewolves.wixsite.com/blog/single-post/2017/12/12/Blogmas-Day-12-Top-17-Books-of-2017

  2. I loved Milk and Honey so I ordered The Sun and Her Flowers and was excited to read it. However, it got lost in the mail and I’m still waiting for it! Can’t wait to read it.

Leave a comment