I Am A Poet

I know I posted yesterday but some things have been rolling around in my brain and I’m super excited about it so I wanted to share it.

For the past few months I have been experimenting with free verse, I’ve mentioned it off and on vaguely here. But it’s something that I haven’t really wanted to talk about much, or explore because of my feelings about poetry.
I think I’ve had this idea in my mind that to be a poet, or to write poetry, you have to rhyme. You have to follow a certain set of rules in order to consider yourself a poet. And yet the more I argued with myself that what I was writing wasn’t correct, or real, or right , the more I found myself writing in what looked like poetry.
Free verse, for those of you who do not know, is basically just writing words and formatting it like poetry.
At the moment I have 21 pages and over seven thousand words of free verse. I write these verses as I go throughout my day, sometimes one line, sometimes hundreds of words.

Last night my fiance told me about a different form of poetry called Erasure Poetry. Which is basically taking words from stories,  from novels already written and formatting it as poetry.
I was greatly intrigued and promptly this morning googled it and found myself attracted to it. I liked this idea. Images came to my mins of using old books that are going to be thrown away and saving words onto paper to make somthing new.

As some of you may know I am a huge fan of Imogen Heap. She is my idol, my inspiration, my muse, she is amazing. In the past two days I have been listening to her CD “Speak for Yourself” over and over again.  The words vibrating in my core, stirring up inspiration,  but to what end I did not know. I couldn’t find anything to do with these words and feelings.
And then I heard of Erasure Poetry and everthing clicked.  Now as I listen to these songs the words have.somewhere to go.

This experience has freed me in a way. Freed me to be able to say, “I am a Poet”. I am. I can do this.  I have been able to give myself permission to create and not judge or belittle what I do.  Poetry comes in all shapes and forms, and I can write it.

If you want to read more about  the forms of poetry I’ve talked about here are some links:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Erasure_(artform)

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_verse

Leave a Reply

