Life in Writing: Challenges for the Year

In past years, after the exhilarating win of Nanowrimo, I have tried to participate in other monthly writing challenges.  Tried being the key word in that sentence, as life always seems to catch up with me, or I simply lose interest in what I’m doing.  This year I’m going to try again.  I’m going to try and do a writing challenge every month this year, but this time I’m going to try and make sure my goals are realistic.  So here is my list of goals, I would love to have comments, or even would love to team up with you to do these goals together.

Jan: Write 15 minutes a day.   This is to get me back into the swing of writing. It doesn’t have to be on the same thing every day, it just needs to be 15 minutes.

Feb: 750 words a day.  Again, it doesn’t need to be on the same story, just needs to meet the goal.

March: Edit one story or novel.  I haven’t decided what it is that I’m going to edit this month, I just knew I wanted to add goals for different things, thus this became ”edit” month.

April: Write a poem a day. I’m really excited about this one, as I’ve been wanting to write more poetry but have needed some motivation.

May: Write a short story a week.  My husband and I are both working on editing our short stories to be able to compile them into a collection for publishing.  Hopefully we’ll have that done by this month and begin working on a second collection.

June: Write a blog post every other day.  I wanted to make this goal for a blog post every day, and I might try for it some days anyway, but my husband reminded me that I wanted this goals to be realistic, so I put it to every other day.

July: Camp Nano.  I debated on when to do camp, but decided July would be the best month because my husband will be out of school.

Aug: 

Try a new genre and take two months to write a novel in this genre. I decided to take August and September to do this goal.

Sept: 

Oct: Write a short story.  This month I’m going to spend the month working on ONE short story, but I want this short story to be either a horror or murder mystery.  Halloween being this month, why not use it as inspiration?

Nov: Nano.  The usual goal of 50,000 words in a 30 days.

Dec: Edit 500 words a day. Something easy after Nano stress, but something that works on continuing the story from November.

Well there we are! The whole year planned out.   🙂

13 Comments

  1. Ooh, very cool!! 🙂

    My writing challenges this year (besides NaNo and possibly a couple mini Camp NaNos) are going to be less specific… I do want to finish writing at least one (preferably 2!) of my novels, but my main goals are to just write a lot, remember it’s fun and be excited about it, take more breaks, and get less attached to the idea of wordcount related goals — I want to make progress of all kinds and stop thinking that I only made progress when I wrote x number of words. I’ve been analyzing my writing too much the last couple of years, which has been killing my creativity, so I want to cut myself some slack this year…

    But I LOVE your writing-challange-per-month idea!! Best of luck to you on that! 😀

  2. Sounds brilliant! I would do that if I hadn’t already made up my mind to spend 2015 focusing on revising various of my novels (as well as undertaking new projects for Camp and regular NaNo)…but I’m definitely going to steal this idea from you in 2016!

    Rex

  3. This is amazing and such a good idea! I tend not to over-plan just because…oh gosh, I don’t even know. I don’t like being boxed in by my own plans?! I tentatively want to write 2 books and edit 2 books this year though. 😄 I’ll probably start in Feb though, because I’m lazy and January always feels like a holiday month to me. hehe.
    I admire you for being so organised! Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  4. Pingback: My Family | Rambling Writer

  5. Pingback: October Goals | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

