So Yesterday…

Yesterday I didn’t make my word count. I’m not even sure how many words I did write, I know I wrote some poetry, but it wasn’t very much.

I feel really bad about this…

I know its only been five days into February,  but I felt so good about getting the wordcount each day. It such a success,  a triumph!

And then I didn’t. 

I could make excuses.  I had a migraine and fever yesterday. I was tired and weak and spent all day in bed.  But I don’t want too. There’s really not a point to excusing myself.  And it doesn’t make me feel better.

But I’ve come to this realization.  Writing doesn’t always have to be sit down for a couple of hours and pound out a thousand words. Writing can be a word here and there in the midst of life.
And what counts is I try each day.

Maybe it’s dumb, but sometimes I just need a short reaffirming post to myself. A sort of “Go get it done Abi! At least try!” post. I think we all need something like this once in awhile. Slow and steady wins the race, and all that jazz. Don’t we all need to be reminded of this once and awhile?

8 thoughts on “So Yesterday…”

  1. Yes!! Life happens, but at least we try! 🙂

    I hope you feel better! *hugs* (I’ve had the flu for a week and haven’t done anything writerly or barely useful in awhile now, I’ve been so out of it.) But keeping on trying on is always good!

    I love this post… ^_^

  2. We do need to be reminded of it. And I feel like being sick is a perfectly acceptable excuse. XD Although I knoooow it’s not when you feel like you’ve failed a goal you really really wanted. I wrote every day for 100 days once…and HA. Never doing it again. I prefer to write intensely for small periods and have long breaks. 😉 I hope you get back in that writing groove soon!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  3. I completely understand this! I was stressing myself out with a fairly high word-count I was attempting to make each day, and I realized I needed to give myself some grace. By trying to hit that word-count EVERY day, I was putting a lot of other important things on the back-burner, and I was feeling guilty and stressed and was going just a little nuts. There was no room for margin in my writing schedule. No room to just have fun with it.

    I think goals are excellent, but sometimes we have to take a step back and reevaluate if they’re working and need to be tweaked.

    I guess all that to say, you’re not alone, and there is nothing wrong with having a day off from the grindstone every now and then. Sometimes that day of just doodling, writing snippets of poetry, half a blog post, a letter to a friend, a to-do list… is just what you need to refresh your imagination and come back stronger the next day!

Leave a Reply

