The Highs and Lows of Writing Life

This past week has been interesting, I’ve finished two really big projects I’ve been working on.  This has left me in a bit of a funk, what do you do when you don’t have lots of projects to do?

I’m weird in that when I’m not actively creating something I get depressed and mopey. I start to feel like a failure and that everything I do is crap.  Don’t ask me why I feel this way, I don’t know. lol It just happens.

This week has been a week of fighting off feeling horrible about writing and life in general.  One of my friends Rex gave me a good idea for a novel, and that has helped, and I started a new poetry book, which has also helped.  But both of these projects are slow going, and I have to work hard to remind myself that slow going is okay.

What about you? Do you get sad when you aren’t creating?

2 Comments

  1. I have definitely found that when I go a long period of time without writing, I do get depressed, so YES, I entirely understand! *hugs* Just remember that it’s okay to take some breaks to recharge, and that you don’t have to be going full speed ahead all the time. 🙂 But it’s a real struggle. Hope you will feel better about yourself! I know you seem extremely productive all the time to me, at least! 😀

Leave a Reply

