Because I’m Insane

Earlier last week I casually started a novel, it was titled Hatter: The Battle for Wonderland. As you can probably guess it was a retelling of Alice in Wonderland.  The main character was going to be the Mad Hatter, who is now female and hunting down Alice who is an assassin.  It wasn’t my post original idea, but it sounded fun. I only got 2k in that day, I went to bed and woke up the next morning.
That’s when insanity struck.  I got this idea, why not try to write a novel in the next 7 days?  But not with just any old wordcount, let’s see if I can write 50k in a week.

Well my friends I did it.

11401103_1627165967496696_942992604767348066_n

This week has been insanity.  There were two days when I just wanted to give up, thankfully my wonderful husband (who knew I wouldn’t tolerate defeat) kept encouraging me to keep working.  Not only do I now know I can do it, but I’ve learned some things along the way.  I learned more about plots and subplots, I also learned that I need to read books with a more critical eye.
So this novel I wrote is far from perfect. I hate the narrative voice. Hatter and Alice are way too much alike, neither one is unique, the plot has holes the size of planets,  and some of my character’s name make me cringe. 😀   I do, however, still like the idea, it was fun to write. I want to wait a few months and then edit it, and then maybe write a sequel.

So in the mean time, what do I do? If anyone has crazy writing ideas please pass them along.  How is your writing going?

10 Comments

  1. ZOMG CONGRATS ON THIS TERRIFIC ACCOMPLISHMENT!! *showers you with confetti*
    *smushes congratulatory cake in your hair*
    My record has been 65K in a week, but BLAH, I totally mashed the ending and also destroyed my hand. HAah. Okay I didn’t destroy my hand, but it ached very badly when I finished. 😄 Still, you write an Alice in Wonderland retelling. YOU ARE MY NEW FAVOURITE.

Leave a Reply

