Unpopular Opinions Tag

Hey everyone! So I saw this book tag done by my friend over on The Road of a Writer, and I knew I had to do it! I hope you have fun reading, and I hope that some people will agree with me. 😉

1. A POPULAR BOOK OR SERIES YOU DIDN’T LIKE.  

1123571213206760

The Lunar Chronicles.  Okay, so I haven’t finished all the books in this series, I’m in the middle of Cress. I feel bad for disliking these books, because the ideas are honestly brilliant  I just…the books are so boring.  There are no surprises, no good plot twists. Just a bunch of cliche girls running around and falling in love (which isn’t really love, because I’m sorry to say it, but after 2 days you can’t fall in love with someone).

2. A POPULAR BOOK/SERIES EVERYONE HATES BUT YOU LOVE.

17162156

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. 

I saw a lot of negative reviews for this book. But I loved it!  This book is brilliant, fast-paced and creepy.  The characters were enjoyable and lovable. I stayed up, on the edge of my seat, to finish it.  This is one of the best books I’ve read all year.

3. A LOVE TRIANGLE WHERE THE PROTAGONIST ENDED UP WITH THE PERSON YOU DIDN’T WANT THEM TO BE WITH.

17675462

The Raven Cycle: I haven’t finished this series yet either. But I just have to say it. I hate Gansey, he’s a control-freak and an assh*le.   Blue needs to be with anyone but him. Just…yeah. He needs to die already.

4. POPULAR GENRE YOU HARDLY READ.

Chick-Lit or books that are mainly Romance. I just don’t get these books. I blame it on my heart of stone. 😀 Occasionally I’ll find a book in this genre that I like. But as I rarely read these type of books, it doesn’t happen very often. 😉

5. A POPULAR/BELOVED CHARACTER YOU DISLIKE.

11870085

Both main characters in The Fault in our Stars. *shudders*  I know a lot of people loved this book. And part of me feels bad for not liking it…another part of me wonders what’s wrong with me.  Mostly I just roll when people fawn over the character and romance in this book.  Hazel and Gus were boring. They were flat, they were just letters on paper trying to be characters.

6. A POPULAR AUTHOR YOU CAN’T SEEM TO GET INTO.

13335037

Veronica Roth:  Just nope. I read this whole series and I left it feeling like she was a bad fan fiction writer.  Don’t get me wrong, I like some good fanfiction stories once in awhile.  But we all know what’s it’s like to see a cool idea on fanfiction.net and then see the idea butchered. It hurts.

7. A POPULAR TROPE YOU’RE TIRED OF READING.

Hmmm. This is actually a hard question. I guess I don’t really have a genre, or book idea that I’m tired of. At least not one that I can think of now.  What I am tired of is love and romance in YA book.  Okay I get it, we all had crushes in high school, and dated someone that we really liked.  But how often do those relationships last? Not that often.  And “love” after a couple days, or a week or knowing someone, is not really love.  It’s interest, or attraction.  Love in YA books is overrated.

9. A SHOW/MOVIE ADAPTION YOU LIKED BETTER THAN THE BOOK.

Percy Jackson.  JUST KIDDING. 😀  lol No don’t worry, I hated that movie adaption.

278958

For the life of me I can’t think of a movie I liked MORE than the book.  I loved the adaption of “I Am David” as much as the book.  Both have a special place in my heart and one is not better than the other. 🙂

10. A POPULAR STYLE OF COVER YOU CAN’T STAND. (Cait’s addition to the tag)

Thank you Cait for adding this one!

I really really can’t stand covers with dramatic girl’s faces on them, or really hot guy’s bodies.  Like this: 6527740  or this7098304

These covers ooz bad writing, bad plots and bad characters.  Yes, I know, this is me judging a book by it’s cover.

That’s all for today! Have a great weekend guys, and if you end up doing this tag put a link in the comments, I’d love to see what other people think!

4 Comments

  1. Well…out of all those books, I’ve only read two. The Fault in Our Stars and I am David. I have also seen both movies and I must say the movie adaptions were great! I like both the movies and the books. Hazel is awesome and so is Gus! I think its hilarous how in they movie they play lovers and then in the Divergent movies they play brother and sister! I would not say the two characters are dull or boring…in fact they inspire! For those with cancer…I am curious as to what you all think?

    • I Am David is one my favorite books, and movie too. I love it.
      I did think it was funny about the actors playing lovers and siblings. 🙂
      I can’t say what will inspire other people. Would I ever recommend The Fault in our Stars to anyone? No, never.
      If people want to read an inspiring cancer story I would recommend Zac and Mia. First because the characters are so much more real. They aren’t saying ridiculous cliche things like Gus or Hazel. And second because the book is more more realistic. Zac and Mia shows the every day of living in a hospital with cancer.
      But that’s just my opinion, not everyone can get into the same stuff I guess.

Leave a Reply

