Reading 2015

Last night I made it to 100 books!

11700971_1642802875933005_2899184416448696818_n

100 books was my original goal for this year.  I can’t believe I’ve already made it, and have been able to up my goal to 150. Since being with my family in Kansas City I’ve had access to a library, which has been fantastic.  Anyway, I thought it would be fun for me to share with some of what I’ve been reading. I’ve chosen my favorite five books thus far. 🙂

5.

 2213661

I was able to read my first Neil Gaiman book! It was awesome. I loved his writing style, it was both young and old, somber and exciting, adult and childlike all at the same time.  Bod, our main character, was an adorable young boy.  And the antagonist was really creepy.

4.

20702018

I read the synopsis for this book, and thought, “huh that might be interesting”, but I honestly wasn’t expecting much from it. Wow! Was I surprised.  This book kept me up at night because I just had to finish it.  The characters were all interesting, and very well written.  It was set in Portland Oregon, which made me happy because that’s only 2 hours from where I live. Olivia is a great main character! From the synopsis you might think that she’s just disobedient and stupid. But she’s really not. I loved Olivia because she’s honestly trying to do the right thing, she wants to obey her father, but she also wants to learn and become a teacher.  It’s only when it becomes clear that her father cares more about his reputation than his own child, that she decides something needs to change.

3.

22718710

This is a book I’ve been dying to get my hands on.  I mean look at the cover? It’s stunning. And the story! Gosh, it was even better than I thought it would be.  The story and characters are adorable. The world fascinating.  The love interests and ships are so cute.  Read this book now. I mean it.

2.

17980939

This is Pearl S. Buck’s last book. The manuscript was stolen and turned up, years after her death, in Texas. Finally given back to the family, her son was able to edit it and publish it. I think it was published last year, but I’m not 100% certain about that.  I am a huge fan of Pearl S. Buck, she’s one of my all time favorite writers. If you like Historical Fiction, or character studies, find some of her books and read them.  This book in particular, is a character study. About a young genius and his quest for a meaningful life work.  The book is fun, really deep and easy to read.

1.

18081809

And here we are. Number 1 on my list! Of course it’s Rainbow Rowell’s book. 🙂  I will devour anything by this amazing writer.  I’m not a big fan of Romance novels, but give me a RR book and I will sob and laugh through the whole thing.  This book was beautiful.  It’s about a marriage that seems to be breaking up, and how the main character deals with it. And the ending is so perfect. It’s one of those endings that could have been cliche, but it’s not.  It’s perfect.

So there! The end for today.  What about you? What are some of your favorite books so far? Any recommendations for me?

9 Comments

  1. Eeep, congratulations!!! 😀 That’s awesome and amazing you’ve read 100 books already! ^_^

    I read my first Neil Gaiman this year as well! The Ocean at the End of the Lane, which was scaaary but whimsical and kind of awesome, if a bit too sad for me. 😄 I really want to read more of him now!

    My favorite book I’ve read this year is probably The Ordinary Princess by M. M. Kaye. It was tiny but perfect and adorable and sweet and gaaahh I loved it. 😀 Closely followed by the final book in Diana Wynne Jones’ Chrestomanci series–I loooved those! And Frederica by Georgette Heyer was amazing as well! (If not quite as awesome as The Grand Sophy.) Honorable mention goes to Illusionarium, which was INCREDIBLE but slightly too creepy for me. 😄 …Aaand that was a babble. Sorry! But those are my favorites so far. 🙂 Not that I’ve read nearly as many as you. 😛

    Thanks for sharing your top five! Awesome! 🙂

  2. That’s so amazing! I love reading and am adding some of these books to my “to read” goodreads shelf.

    I highly recommend other Neil Gaiman including The Ocean at the End of the Lane and Coraline. Great reads. I recently read Good Omens, which is by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. I didn’t love it but it was worth reading overall.

    Currently reading LOTR for the first time… it’s good but a slow read for me due to the descriptions of locations and where they are going. A friend of mine lent me a book of maps to accompany the books, and this has helped tremendously!

Leave a Reply

