Why Do You Care?

Since I’ve been reading so much, I’ve also been pondering.

Welcome to my pondering. 😉

As many of you know I’m a writer.  I’ve been writing since I was little, like ten or maybe younger. I remember one time rewriting one of my favorite books as a kid, but having to go to my mom to ask her how to spell a lot of words. It was a book about cowboys, y’all I loved that book.  I wrote the book on different colored card stock, drew pictures and stapled it together to look like a book. I wish I had a picture to show you guys. 😀
When I was 13 I stumbled down the rabbit hole into Nanowrimo and I was enthralled. My wordcount for that year was around 13k.  Since then I haven’t been able to stay away from Nano. Writing has been what I have ate, drank, and breathed since then, petting plot bunnies is my specialty.
So since I’ve been reading all of these books lately it’s got me wondering.

What makes you care about characters?  Characters come in every shape, race, gender and origin. They all have different quirks and skills, different back stories.  They each have something that they want.  We read books to be entertained, or to learn something, or to be inspired.  So what makes you look at a character and say,

“This one. I love this on.”

Let me know in the comments below! I’d love to chat with everyone about characters, loving characters, and also how to write characters that other will love.

10 thoughts on “Why Do You Care?”

  1. Ohh this is a toughie. I actually struggle to connect with a lot of characters (I’m a picky reader?!) so for me, a character needs to be lurking in a grey area. Like they’re not SOLELY good or bad, and I love it when they have meltable weaknesses. Like being totally a push over to a little sibling or something, or they’d die for the best friend or whatnot. OH AND I LOVE SNARK. I always fall for a character who’s snarky. 😉
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  2. What makes me go “this one” is at once simple and complicated. I don’t really care about any features specifically (male/female, race, age, young/old, etc.), but it has to be something that makes me sympathize with them.

    I can tell you right now that the surefire flaw to make sure I DON’T like them is arrogance. I cannot stand arrogance. You can be strong and smart and bad@$$ without being arrogant, contrary to what so many in Hollywood and the literary circles seem to think these days. -_-

  3. That’s interesting. I think a certain amount of arrogance can be funny, but it can also be annoying. And you’re right arrogance and badass don’t always have to go together. Thanks for commenting! I really appreciate it. 🙂

  4. That is such a good question! Now I’m reflecting that some of the books I have read over the past year or so (A Casual Vacancy, 1Q84) haven’t had characters I really love. I thought they were great books, but I just didn’t really care about the characters. Especially in 1Q84, the characters were more the lens through which to see this weird and surreal kind of world, and I really liked exploring it.
    So, why do I love Harry Potter, or Tyrion, or Juliet (Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society)? I don’t know if there’s one thing I can put my finger on. I guess I like characters who have to struggle. I like when there’s a quality about a character that stays the same (like bravery, cleverness, or charm) but they might have to change in other ways through the story.
    It’s definitely a question worth pondering!

    1. Great point! Characters with a real struggle is a good thing to keep in mind. I mean if we don’t believe they have real problems then we don’t believe their reactions to the ”problems”, and then it feels fake.
      Yeah it is! It’s always nice to hear what other people think, it helps me with my writing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

