Immersed By Katie Hayoz

25547969

Holy crap. Look at that cover.  I love it.

Synopsis: What if love turned you into a monster?

Forget petticoats and demure female behavior. Melusine Doré prefers armored corsets and knives and slays evil creatures for a living. The grim and gruesome don’t frighten her; she’ll take on a cyclops or a dragon and not even break a sweat. But when her rival, the charismatic Levi Cannon, comes to town, all her buried fears begin to surface. Melusine realizes she is in danger of something much more horrifying than facing blood-thirsty beasts – she’s in danger of falling in love. Because love alone has the power to reveal a secret terrible enough to completely shatter her world.

Set in the muddy streets of 1850s steampunk Chicago, Immersed by Katie Hayoz is a dark yet romantic fantastical romp. It is a stand-alone novella, but the first in a series of adventures that follow Melusine on her quest to rid the world of monsters…and her struggle to come to terms with every monstrous facet of herself.

I finished this story in a couple of hours and I enjoyed it very much.  If you like to read about mermaids, or steampunk then this book is for you. The plot was pretty good. I always have my doubts when romance is involved, but Immersed wasn’t a disappointment.  The world was fabulous.  The monsters, the steampunk, the dirt and grime of the poor places, this world has creepy monsters hanging out in the mud waiting to pull you under. How cool is that? And the mechanical servants and horses, and steam carriages!  Everything was wonderfully described and vivid in this book.   And the weapons that our main character, Mel, uses are fantastic.   The suspense people!  The question of “What’s the matter with Mel?” did have me anxious.  I just had to know what was going to happen,  I was flipping through the pages on my kindle as fast as my fingers could go.

I did have a few small complaints. Like the main character’s name, Melusine? How do I even try to pronounce that? But it is a unique name, and once I saw the nickname Mel being used I was okay.  At times I felt that Mel was too easily convinced by a certain man named Levi, but then she is in love with him.  The love story isn’t anything new, strong girl with no room for love meets cocky arrogant hottie who loves her. That doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy their romance, I actually did like it.  I mean Levi has auburn hair, it’s hard not to like that. 😉

All that said, I give it four stars. It’s entertaining, it’s fairly well written, and it has mermaids. Enough said, go read it people! And if you have read it, please let me know what you thought.

Thank you NetGalley for giving me a copy of this book. 

Leave a Reply

