Chloe in India By Kate Darnton

23208662

Synopsis: A coming-of-age story about 11-year-old Chloe Jones, whose family moves from Boston to Delhi, where Chloe must navigate the waters of her new prep school while India is undergoes its own dramatic social changes.

I decided to read this book for a couple of reasons.  The cover interested me first, the colors are bright and I loved it immediately.  Second it’s set in India! How cool is that?  And the last reason was because I’ve been reading a lot of YA books and I wanted to move out of that age group and read something a little different.

Chloe in India was a  fun read. It only took me a couple of hours to read it start to finish, and I throughly enjoyed myself. I loved how the writer made the world of India come alive.  I think she did a really great job with the descriptions. Having lived in countries overseas I was able to imagine myself in India with Chloe really well, it was like I could hear and see everything so vividly.

The characters were also really great.  Chloe, at times seemed a lot older than she was said to be in the book, but it didn’t really bother me too much as it explained in the book that Chloe is a big reader. Chloe was fun, I loved that she did origami, it was a neat skill that helped create her unique character. Her friend Lakshmi was my favorite character, probably because of her family circumstance, no spoilers but she tugged at my heart with her ability to be happy and grateful. Chloe’s mom was funny, and I actually enjoyed both of the parents in this book.  It wasn’t one of those stories were the adults are all morons and the children smarter.

This is a great story if you have some younger siblings, or children who devour books, it’s fun and has good pacing. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads.

Thank you NetGalley for giving me a copy of this book. 

Leave a Reply

