Warren the 13th and The All-Seeing Eye – By Tania Del Rio

25241871

Synopsis: Meet Warren the 13th, a cursed 12-year-old Victorian bellhop who’s terribly unlucky . . . yet perpetually optimistic, hard-working, and curious. Orphan Warren’s pride and joy is his family’s hotel, but he’s been miserable ever since his evil Aunt Anaconda took over the management. Anaconda believes a mysterious treasure known as the All-Seeing Eye is hidden somewhere on the grounds, and she’ll do anything to find it. If Warren wants to preserve his family’s legacy, he’ll need to find the treasure first—if the hotel’s many strange and wacky guests don’t beat him to it! This middle-grade adventure features gorgeous two-color illustrations on every page and a lavish two-column Victorian design that will pull young readers into a spooky and delightful mystery.

This was such a fun book! If you like stories like A Series of Unfortunate Events or Howl’s Moving Castle, then you’ll be sure to love this book.

Warren is a great character, funny and smart with a big sense of responsibility. I was drawn to him right away. I loved that even though his situation was sad he wasn’t someone who would mope about it.  The other characters were great as well, each one was unique. The uncle annoying, Annaconda frightening and horrid. Mr. Friggs and his library were wonderful!

The plot was wonderfully paced, funny and not at all boring. I enjoyed reading this book so much. And the final twist with the All-Seeing Eye was so good. I didn’t see it coming at all.   The books is also filled with enchanting art work.  I need to have this book in print, I’m going to recommend it to my siblings and buy a copy for myself.

The only reason this book did not get five stars, was the text mixups on my kindle. Whole passages had been rearranged and it was confusing. When I talked to my husband about this he said this sometimes happens when books are moved from print to e-book form.  I was able to get in contact with the people who gave me the book, and sent some screenshots to one of them. The woman I talked to was really nice and I hope they are able to fix this soon, because the book is absolutely fabulous.

Warren the 13th and The All-Seeing Eye comes out November 24 of this month, and I would tell everyone reading this, you should go buy it!  If you do end up reading this book, let me know what you thought in the comments below.

Thank you NetGalley for a copy of this book. 

Leave a Reply

