Walden – Henry David Thoreau

1096344

Synopsis: Naturalist & philosopher Thoreau’s timeless essays on the role of humanity in the world of nature, in society & government. This edition includes a concise introduction that gives readers important background information. A chronology of the author’s life & work. A timeline of significant events that provides the book’s historical context. An outline of key themes & plot points to help readers form their own interpretations. Detailed explanatory notes. Critical analysis, including contemporary perspectives on the work. Discussion questions to promote lively classroom & book group interaction. A list of recommended related books & films to broaden the reader’s experience.

This was long read, probably one of the longest this year. I started Walden on April 7 and finished it on September 6.  Part of this was my own fault, I put it off because of books that were more exciting.  Part of this was also because I wanted to soak in the book and not rush any of it.

Walden is a dense book.  I found Thoreau to be very rambly. He stats talking about one thing and then starts a story and gets a lost for a few pages before pulling back to the original point.  Though the stories were interesting, most of the time, I did find myself getting bored.  Walden wasn’t what I expected, but I still enjoyed it.

I gave this book three stars on Goodreads.  Has anyone else read Walden? If so I’d love to hear what you thought about it.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

