What I’m Watching These Days

I thought I’d switch things up a bit today and tell you about some of the TV shows I’ve been watching.  A lot of times when I’m at home writing I like to have some background noise on. Either music or some a show.  These days I’ve been watching Midsomer Murders when I’m doing a bit of writing, in fact I have an episode on right now from Season 4 called “Garden of Death”.  Mysteries have always been one of my favorite genre of shows to watch.

BENTLEY PRODUCTIONS PRESNTS: MIDSOMER MURDERS CHRISTMAS HAUNTING. Picture shows:   GWILYM LEE as DS Charlie Nelson and NEIL DUDGEON as DCI John Barnaby. Photographer: MARK BOURDILLION © ITV All images are Copyright ITV and may only be used in relation to MIDSOMER MURDERS.  For more info please contact Pat Smith at patrick.smith@itv.com or 02071573044

Based on the crime-novel series by author Caroline Graham, “Midsomer Murders” follows the efforts of Detective Chief Inspector Tom Barnaby to solve crimes that occur in the wealthy, isolated English county of Midsomer, a picturesque and peaceful place on the outside but one filled with amoral and snobbish eccentrics with all kinds of vices. His latest assistant is Detective Sergeant Ben Jones, and other recurring characters include Barnaby’s wife, Joyce, their daughter, Cully, and Dr. George Bullard, the resident pathologist who seems to instantly know how each murder took place.

In the evenings, when we don’t have to get up early, Grant and I also watch shows together.  Ripper Street is our latest, and we’ve almost finished with season 2.  We would have started it last night, but I didn’t want to finish it. That and the last episode we had seen was really sad and I was still trying to recover from all the feels.  I mentioned one of the characters from this show a ways back when I did a character tag.

p9208565_b_v7_ab

Jack the Ripper was a serial killer who butchered a number of women in and around the Whitechapel District of London in 1888. This drama begins about six months after the final murder, with now-peaceful East London hoping that the reign of terror is over. Among the hopeful are members of H Division, the police precinct tasked with keeping order in the district, including Detective Inspector Edmund Reid, a forward-thinking detective haunted by a past mistake that ended in tragedy. While trying to keep order in the chaotic streets of Whitechapel, Reid is soon drawn into the seedy criminal underworld of Victorian London, where each new murder elicits fear that the Ripper may be back.

Currently Grant and I are living with my cousin Vincent, and another guy.  Vincent and I have always been close and often share liking for similar things.  This past weekend he introduced me to Arrow.  Now I’m not a superhero fun, nor an American tv show watcher, but this show hasn’t been horrible and it does have John Barrowman in it, so I will be continuing it.

download

When presumed-dead billionaire playboy Oliver Queen returns home to Starling City after five years stranded on a remote island in the Pacific, he hides the ways the experience has changed him. As he reconnects with those closest to him, including his sister, Thea, Oliver appears to be the same wealthy, carefree bachelor they’ve always known. At night, flanked by his devoted friend, Diggle, Oliver uses his secret persona — that of a vigilante — to right societal wrongs and transform the city to its former glory.

And then last, but never least, when I feel like I need a laugh, I watch The IT Crowd.  Nerds and British humor? Yes please. I’ve seen all of The IT Crowd’s seasons, but I still love it and this show never fails to make me laugh.

p299837_b_v7_aa

The comedic adventures of a rag-tag group of technical support workers at a large corporation.

So there we are. That’s what I’ve been watching. What have you been watching? Do you like any of these shows? Do you have any recommendations for me?

Leave a Reply

