Whistling Women – A Book Review

25703896

Life went terribly wrong for Addie Bates in San Diego, and she’s been running from dark memories ever since. For fifteen years, the Sleepy Valley Nudist Colony has provided a safe haven for Addie to hide from the crime she committed. But when the residents pack up to go on exhibit at the 1935 world’s fair in San Diego, Addie returns and must face the thrilling yet terrifying prospect of reuniting with her estranged sister, Wavey.
Addie isn’t the only one interested in a reunion. When her niece, Rumor, discovers she has an aunt, Rumor is determined to bring her family together. But it’s not so easy when the women are forced to confront family secrets, past and present.
Set against the backdrop of the 1935 world’s fair, Whistling Women explores the complex relationships between sisters, the sacrifices required to protect family, and the devastating consequences of a single impulsive act.

I have a big love for Historical Fiction, history was my favorite class in school, tied of course with Language Arts. Add some fiction to the history and you have a very happy Abi. 😀

My overall feeling after finishing this book is meh…I didn’t love and I didn’t hate. There were definitely parts of the book that I thoroughly enjoyed. The setting of a nudist colony in the 30’s is something completely new, and it was very intriguing.  The historical setting was very well done. I loved being immersed in the glamours world of 1935.

The characters were okay. Addie, our first main character, was connectable on many levels. I could understand her wanting routine, and her need to hide from others. As her story slowly comes to light, I was surprised, shocked and felt for her immensely. Her character was very well done. There were so many times when I just wanted to give Addie a big hug.

Rumor was something completely different. First off there was her name. It just sounded so modern and just plain wrong…I admit I almost stopped reading when I got to the first chapter from her point of view.  Second her character just wasn’t unique, her story was the stereotypical split/messed up family dynamic. I just didn’t enjoy it. Rumor’s mother and sister were really annoying.  The only thing I didn’t see coming was the twist with their father.

So to sum up, parts of Whistling Women was really interesting. Parts were not. I didn’t enjoy the dual point if view and the last 10% of the book seemed to drag on for way to long.

I gave this book 3 stars on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

