Promoting Creativity: A Monthly Blog Series

Today’s blog post is something I am super super excited for. Today starts something I will be doing at the end of each month for a year or so, hopefully longer.  Back when I wrote my list of things to do before I turn 21 I mentioned that I want to connect and support with more artists, writers, poets and all creative people. This is all about that.
People who have a dream are my favorite people, and as someone whose trying to make a living from my dreams I know how hard it can be to get yourself out there.   I will be contacting different people throughout this year and interviewing them, asking them about what they do and why they do. And also what you, me and hopefully all of my readers can do to support them.  I will also be creating a new page for my blog for this series, with my last interview and all the links, it will all be up there for a month so that you can go back to it if you forget who I’m promoting. Hope you guys enjoy!

So this month we have a fellow blogger, writer and friend Deborah O’Carroll, you can follower her on her blog, goodreads and pinterest.

unnamed (2)

1) Tell us a little bit about what you do.

Mostly, I write. (Well… sometimes. ;)) All sorts of genres, but mostly fantasy. Epic Fantasy is my favorite, but I’ve gotten quite into Contemporary Fantasy of late, and I’m starting to dabble in fairytale retellings. Very excited about that! I mostly write novels (or… begin them, anyway), but I’ve been writing more short stories and even venturing into novellas of late.

When I’m not writing, you’ll find me curled up with a good novel (or dozen), engaged in miscellaneous studies, managing my writing group, editing other people’s books (or reviewing them), blogging, petting my cat (who is named Callette after a griffin in a book by Diana Wynne Jones), endlessly rearranging my bookshelves, or abusing parentheses and ellipses… (Bet you saw that one coming…)

2) When and why did you start writing?

I started writing when I was a very young little thing, because I thought it would be fun to write some of the story ideas I had in my head. It took a few years before I got serious, though. I’d say I’ve been writing seriously for eight-ish years now, and my reason now for writing is because I can’t not. I have lots of stories to tell! And they just won’t let me stop… 😉

3) Tell us about a project that you are currently working on that has you really excited.

I’m working on plotting the novel I plan to write in November for NaNoWriMo. This is a retelling of the fairytale The Twelve Dancing Princesses, which is my very favorite fairytale, so I’m excited to try my hand at retelling it myself!

My retelling is called The Silver Forest. I still don’t have the plot entirely worked out — hopefully that will come before it’s too late! I’m mainly working on character development currently… With twelve girls to differentiate between, I have my work cut out for me! And that’s even leaving out the rest of the colorful cast that I’ve got planned. I’m very much looking forward to what shenanigans these characters are going to get up to in the story! I also plan to juggle at least four romances, which is going to be interesting. I hope to focus at least a bit on all of the princesses, not just one or two, and I also hope to have the various heroes (ranging from a brooding fairy to a sweet prince, a rash soldier, and an enigmatic young gardener) be a big part of the story as well.

unnamed (3)
Anyways, it’s going to be a challenge, but I’m having a good time plotting it, and very much looking forward to actually writing it, come November! (Now if only the plot would come together…)

4) What are some of your goals for the future?

Long-term, one of my goals has always been to be published. Now that there are so many different publishing options out there, I feel like it’s both easier AND harder, to get published now, than it ever was before. So one of my long-term goals is to look at all of the different paths of publishing and try to choose which one to pursue. That’s going to take some serious looking!

More immediate goals include finishing some of the novels I have at various stages of incompletion (totally a word, shhh), trying to turn out a decent draft of the Sleeping Beauty retelling novella I’m writing right now (which I’m calling The Rose and the Raven), and surviving this coming NaNo season — which is itself going to be quite a feat! NaNo always makes for a busy time for me… Some writers find dashing off a 50,000 word novel in a month to be easy, but I am not one of them. 😉

unnamed (4)


5) How can we support you?

Well, since I don’t have anything published yet, right now I guess people can support me by following my blog, “The Road of a Writer”; keeping up with what I’m doing and so on. The support of my blog readers, and those who take a moment to comment especially, really keeps me going these days. 🙂 In a sense, I’m still very much at the beginning of my writing road, but knowing that there are people who care enough about it to urge me on, even when it seems like to be published is an unattainable goal (or at least so far off as to be fairly myth-like), is just so incredibly uplifting. I’m so thankful for my lovely blog followers! 🙂

It was really fun doing this with Deborah! I’m really excited to have her on my blog and I hope all of my followers check out her blog! 

11 thoughts on “Promoting Creativity: A Monthly Blog Series”

  1. Yay for this new series of yours!! ^_^ I think it’s SUCH a cool idea and someday I want to do something to help support fledgling writers and awesome bloggers and things too. heeh. I just need get organised. And I LOVED reading this! YAY DEBORAH!! SHE IS SO WONDERFUL. 😀 I love her blog already!!

  2. LOVE this idea you have of promoting creativity and connecting with creative people. What a wonderful series! ^_^ And I’m thrilled to see my own Celti girl over here. She is the absolute best!

    Loved reading this interview! ❤

Leave a Reply

