Nanowrimo Forum Wipe

Welcome to the madness folks! From here till the end of November you’re going to be hearing a lot about Nanowrimo, or National Novel Writing Month.  Nanowrimo, some call it Nano for short, start November 1st and goes till November 30th. Writers from all over the world spend this month writing  50,000 words of a novel.

nano-2015-participant-badge-large-square

This will be my 7th time participating and hopefully my 3rd time winning.  I’ve had bad luck in the past, being out of the states, moving recently, something has always seemed to come up in November. This year I have nothing at all planned! Since earlier this year I wrote 50k in 8 days, I’m semi-confident that I will be able to win. 😀

Honestly I have no clue what I’m going to write about.  I have smidgens of ideas here and there, but nothing concrete enough to write a novel with.  I also have a sort of tradition of not coming up with an idea till just a few days before Nov 1st. This is probably a bad idea.  In the past I’ve tried to come up with ideas earlier, but they’ve never worked for me.

So there we go. That’s all about what Nano is, and what I usually do, now I’d like to talk about the forums. Today is what we in the Nano room call “The Great Wipe”.  nanowrimo.org is the website where you can sign up and do things like keep track of your wordcount. But also they have an awesome forum.  Hundreds of people participate in nanowrimo and the forums are a place where can connect with some of these people.  So anyway, The Great Wipe, today means that the nanowrimo staff have taken down the sight and forums and are revamping the entire thing.  Which means later today, or maybe tomorrow people will be able to get on the sight and start adding their new novel projects.  IT’S OFFICIALLY NANO SEASON!  And I can hardly contain my excitement. 😀

I love the forums. I’ve met so many awesome writers on there. The forums are so incredibly useful! If I’m stuck on a scene I can go to the forums and ask someone to write with me to the next hundred words.  If I need a character to add some character development then I can head over to the adoption center where other writers drop off characters they don’t plan on using. I pretty much live on the forums during nano. Of course, the forums are also really distracting. There are times when I have to bribe myself. “If I write 500 more words then I’ll go check the character cafe thread”.   😀

So there we are. Nano season is upon us.  Do you like the forums? What are some of your favorite threads? Also, let me know what your nano username is so we can be friends!  

9 Comments

  1. This is what I’ve been looking forward to all year! Finally I come into the event in October so I can piece together my ideas. I’m going to use this year’s NaNo to start on my sequel to my first novel. The excitement is real and alive. Good luck on doing yours, as well. If we can exchange some ideas, feel free to let me know. You never know when the Block will hit.

Leave a Reply

