Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is brought to us all by the wonderful The Broke and Bookish! And today we’re talking about books we did not finish or, DNF.  I honestly don’t keep track of all the books I don’t finish, so I only have 7 books for you all today. Good news is I’ve started to keep better track with Goodreads. Isn’t Goodreads fabulous? I mean it’s saved my life numerous times. I love that I can keep all my bookish progress on one site.  But enough rambling, on to what books I’ve sadly had to put down, or put away rather. Keep in mind some of these books I may end up trying to read again, some time in the future. 🙂

1) The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater:  Oh this book…I started it this summer. This author gets a lot of hype in the YA world which makes me feel bad. Is something wrong with me? I don’t know.  Anyway, I started it but didn’t find the main character very likable and I was bored with the story.  I hope to give this a second try someday as the plot does sound cool.

10626594

2) The Snow Fox by Susan Fromberg Schaeffer: Honestly the reason I DNF this one is because I got this book from the library and apparently I can’t keep books from libraries. 😉

1377263

3) The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi: This book is a case of mistaken premise. One of those book where I read the inside flaps and was like “Ooh it’s about a kid and her imaginary friend. Sounds like fun.”  Nope. I couldn’t finish this book because it scared me. This imaginary friend is not a nice kid. 😛

139724

4) The American by Henry James: This book was taking me waaay too long to read. The first 20 pages were interesting but around 40 I got stuck and just decided to give myself a break. I’ll try again later.

456501

5) Spies of Warsaw by Alan Furst: This book had a very interesting premise, it’s historical fiction, which I love. Set in Warsaw, which I also love. But the actual story was just bleh. I couldn’t get into it.

2294328

6) The Monkey Wrench Gang by Edward Abbey: This book I picked up on a whim and pretty much promptly put back. Too many narrators and not enough plot.

99208

7) In The Enemy’s Service by Annie Douglass Lima: I won this book somehow, honestly I can’t remember what exactly happened. Again it was just sort of meh so I put it away.

14061889

So there we go! That’s my list.  Have you guys read any of these books? Anyone a fan of Maggie Stiefvater? What do you like about her books? And as always be sure to leave the link to TTT in the comments for me! 🙂 

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday”

    1. Scorpio Races was one of those books I really really wanted to love, but just couldn’t. 😦 But yeah everyone has different tastes.
      Agreed! I wish there was another way to mark them. Usually if I plan on trying to read them again then I add them to my DFN list and put them back on my TBR list. If I’ve read most of the book then I do put it on my read list. 🙂

  1. I’m a huge fan of Maggie Stiefvater, but I understand why some people don’t like her books… For me I just feel like her writing style is so me, but I know that some people don’t like her style and find her books quite boring! Here’s my TTT.

  2. OMG, ABI, HOW CAN I EVEN TALK TO YOU WHEN YOU DON’T LIKE MAGGIE STIEFVATER?!? *hyperventilates and dies*
    BUT SERIOUSLY. NOW. I HOPE YOU TRY IT AGAIN. XD Or maybe one of her other books?! Ballad and Lament are about faeries and gaelic mythology and are HILARIOUS. And The Raven King is adorable and clever (although slow). And the Shiver books are ajfdklsafd everything Sam Roth…oh and Cole St Clair and Isabelle my ultimate ship ajfdklsad.
    OKAY OKAY I’LL STOP NOW. *shushes self*

    1. I like her, I just don’t like her books! lol please don’t hate me. 😀
      I do hope to try the Scorpio Races again. And I’ve read most of the Raven Cycle, it was okay. I had a lot of issues with it and sometimes it bored me to tears. 😛 I’ve heard about the Shiver books but I was hesitant to try them. But on your request I shall try something else. I’ll let you know what I think. 😀

Leave a Reply

