Nano Survival Kit

It’s only 2 more weeks till NaNoWriMo starts so today I thought I’d write a post about what I have in my survival kit.

NaNoWriMo is a lot of fun, the community, the race, the awesome feeling of having a first draft done, it’s all awesome.  But it’s also a butt load of work.  Some days it’s a struggle to write 1,667 words. Some days you’re characters will throw fits or maybe they’ll give you the silent treatment.  So like every good NaNoer I have a few tricks in my bag that help me survive the month of November. Here are five things that help me.

  1. Candy.  I prefer chocolate. Candy is a great reward. If I’m having trouble getting out that last 300 words then I’ll set aside a handful of Kit-Kats and tell myself I can eat them after I make the wordcount.
  2. Tea. Hydration is soooooo necessary during this noveling month. My drink of choice is either Chai tea or another sort of black tea.  It’s also nice to have a reason to get up and move around for a few minutes. Of course I also drink water, but it’s also nice to have a cup of hot liquid to warm my fingers after they’ve been typing for hours.
  3. Writing Partners.  The only reason I’m able to meet my wordcount some days is because I have a people who are able to sit down and word war with me.  Need a better reason than chocolate to help you get to the next 100 words? Sit down your best friend and see who can write the most words in 10 or 15 minutes.
  4. Movies. For me reading during NaNoWriMo can be hard, mostly because I have a fear of accidently copying something I’ve just read. So movies are a good alternative! When my eyes get dizzy from seeing word after word after word on a page, it’s nice to sit down and watch some good character development.
  5. Bananagrams. Anyone played this game? It’s a really fun word game, it’s like scrabble only faster and without a board. My husband and I like to play this together. After 20 or so days of writing I find that I’m using some of the same words a lot, and while I know it’s just a first draft,  it really annoys me.  Bananagrams reminds me of new words or synonyms that I can use instead of my repetitive words. Plus it’s a fun game and be a good break time motivator.
So there we are. 5 things I keep in mind for NaNoWriMo survival. What sort of things do you do? I’d love to hear about your tricks and tips.
1 Comment

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Write-Ins | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

