City of Ashes – A Book Review

Hold on to your hats folks, Abi’s doing another controversial book review. πŸ˜€

But first a quick update:
image

Yes that’s right!! I finished my reading goal for this month! I’m so proud of my self. πŸ˜€ 150 books isn’t too shabby, and I still have till December.Β  My goal now is to reach 175 books at the least, but to hopefully get to 200 books this year. Wish me luck! πŸ˜€

Now back to my thoughts/review/ramble on this book.

4062214

Look at the pretty cover! πŸ™‚

Goodreads Synopsis: Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal. But what’s normal when you’re a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? Clary would love to spend more time with her best friend, Simon. But the Shadowhunters won’t let her go–especially her handsome, infuriating newfound brother, Jace. And Clary’s only chance to help her mother is to track down rogue Shadowhunter Valentine, who is probably insane, certainly evil–and also her father. When the second of the Mortal Instruments is stolen, the terrifying Inquisitor suspects Jace. Could Jace really be willing to betray everything he believes in to help their father?

Ugh…what to say about this book? Well here I’ll show you some memes and they will tell you how I felt about this book.

702283

702278

So yup. That was me.Β  Yawning, maybe a little bit of skimming and sighing.Β  I heard such good things about this series. It’s supposed to be magical and full of surprises and I was disappointed. The plot felt all over the place, people doing things that didn’t make sense. Valentine being the big bad unconvincing guy. There were so many plot twists I saw coming. Simon turning into a vampire? Who didn’t call that?

Also I’ve realized I am just not a fan of multiple character POV’s. The jumping around to her and then him and then someone else annoys me. Plus I usually find that I just want to read a book from the first main character’s perspective.

Characters were hilariously dumb, I mean this book even had the whole conveniently absent parents until they were ”needed’.Β  Clary runs around like “Ohhh I’m a special snowflake!” And I’m all like “Girl not only are you boring af, you’re also a moron.”Β  I mean really, she can create her own runes out nothing? That’s awfully convenient.
Guys I’m so tired of the “I’m the only teenager in the world who can save us thing in YA. Please tell me I’m not alone?

And can I just say the ”brother”/ sister romance was gross? Also unbelievable *Spoiler alert* I read the third book and I called him not being her brother the entire time.

Jace is a jerk. How does anyone like him? He’s a whiney, angsty, manipulative jerk.Β  The entire book I just wanted to punch him in the face.

Oh and while we’re on the topic of romance. Alex and Magnus like each other why exactly? Like I feel like I want to ship them but I’m not sure why I should? First of allΒ Magnus so much older and I think that’s creepy. Second Alex is so two dimensional. I mean really, he’s a shadow hunter and a closeted gay teenager. Besides that what do we really know? Magnus was hilarious though, he’s honestly my favorite character. Can we just have a book about him? That would be awesome, I have this book one star just for him.

Now I’m trying to remember why I gave it the other two stars… Oh okay, so the world is pretty cool. Runes, magic, angles and demons, that’s all mildly entertaining. So that’s a star. Hmmmm oh yes, I did like Luke. I thought he was pretty cool, being a werewolf and all, that’s my third star

So there we have it. Abi didn’t like City of Ashes, or the first book in this series, or the third book.Β  Sad day. 😦 Who did like this book? I’d love to know why you did! What have you been reading this week? And how are you doing on your yearly reading goal? Don’t forget to take a look at my giveaway! I have two books that I’d love to send to people. πŸ™‚ Β  a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 Comments

  1. I’ve been wondering if I should check these books out… probably will put them on the back burner. I just finished reading The Golem and the Jinni today and I really enjoyed it! The ending didn’t quite live up to my full expectations, but it wasn’t disappointing. Overall it was really imaginative πŸ™‚

  2. The covers were always interesting, not exactly eye catching, but interesting.
    I thought the first three books were very good and well constructed. It was magical, but not in the same way as Harry Potter which I think some people were expecting. I thought the plot was good and not all over the place. I was surprised at turn of events. I thought Valentine was an excellent bad guy. As for Simon, I did not see him becoming a Vampire, but I was totally pissed when that happened. I mean why did Clary have to do that, sure they were friends, but she liked Jace. It was better for Simon to be dead, even though I didn’t want him to be dead. It would have been cooler if he became a werewolf.
    I love the moving around from one character to another. It reminds me of Lord of the Rings. Plus it shows how good of a writer the author is. She did an excellent job of it. I never knew when she was going to switch back or what was going to be happening next when she did switch over.
    The parents weren’t there, so what. Plenty of stories like that. And there was good reason for that. And if you think Clary was so full of herself, then what about Harry Potter. I am the only one who can kill he who should not be named. Even his friends said that, no wonder Ron got tired of him and jealous. And in the end they both had friends by there sides. Duh, of course she can create her own ruins. Her Father did that. Kept giving the blood to her mother when she was pregnant with Clary. He knew something was going to happen.
    Yes, I knew they were not brother and sister. Everyone had to know that, so how can it be gross? I say that bit could of been done away with. Nothing really would have changed. Jace is a bit full of himself. As for the gay thing with Alex, yuck. Pointless and unrelated to the story. It’s like the author just had to put it in there so that her books would be like other peoples books and fit in with all people of society.
    I loved the books, all three. I tried to read the fourth, but it was so much about Simon being a vampire. I might give it another try. I think the books ending as a trilogy would have been nice. Though now the bad guy is her not dead brother. That does intrigue me.

    • Yes! Covers are awesome. πŸ˜€
      I’m glad you liked the books. Valentine definitely had some okay moments. He has a cool name! lol
      Yeah, poor Simon. He was only resurrected because of the YA need for love triangles. πŸ˜›
      But like I said, I’m glad you liked them, I know a lot of people did. They just weren’t my thing. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

