Pure – A Book Review

9680114

Goodreads Synopsis: We know you are here, our brothers and sisters . . .
Pressia barely remembers the Detonations or much about life during the Before. In her sleeping cabinet behind the rubble of an old barbershop where she lives with her grandfather, she thinks about what is lost-how the world went from amusement parks, movie theaters, birthday parties, fathers and mothers . . . to ash and dust, scars, permanent burns, and fused, damaged bodies. And now, at an age when everyone is required to turn themselves over to the militia to either be trained as a soldier or, if they are too damaged and weak, to be used as live targets, Pressia can no longer pretend to be small. Pressia is on the run.
Burn a Pure and Breathe the Ash . . .
There are those who escaped the apocalypse unmarked. Pures. They are tucked safely inside the Dome that protects their healthy, superior bodies. Yet Partridge, whose father is one of the most influential men in the Dome, feels isolated and lonely. Different. He thinks about loss-maybe just because his family is broken; his father is emotionally distant; his brother killed himself; and his mother never made it inside their shelter. Or maybe it’s his claustrophobia: his feeling that this Dome has become a swaddling of intensely rigid order. So when a slipped phrase suggests his mother might still be alive, Partridge risks his life to leave the Dome to find her.
When Pressia meets Partridge, their worlds shatter all over again.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

This book was pretty darn good. I really enjoyed reading it and I’m really looking forward to reading the next two books in the trilogy.I picked up this book mostly by accident, I was at the library and looking at my TBR list and found that Pure was on it. I decided to look for the book at the library and found it, I sat down and started the book and was hooked immediately.

Pure is set in a post-apocalyptic world, so nothing super new there. In fact this book has a lot of themes that aren’t something new. But it does have a new spin on this genre.

This book was gritty. Pure felt real, it felt like something that could actually happen. I loved the world. If anyone has played the Fallout games, this book felt a little bit like that,  Thinking about it later I realized that Pure was kind of like a YA version of The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I loved the world, and I can’t tell you guys that enough.

The characters were pretty great too. Pressia and Partridge were good people. The minor characters were fabulous as well. I enjoyed El Capitino’s character the best, the fact that he is fused together with his brother made him so intriguing, likable and dislikable at the same time. His character fights between loving his brother and hating him.

Pure isn’t perfect. There were times I wished that the author would have spent more time explaining things. The concept of fusing for example. The idea is, when the detonation went off, whatever you next too (people, ground, tree or an animal) was fused or stuck onto your body. It became a part of you, sometimes living, like if you were fused to your pet or another human being.  At one point we see a group of 8 people fused together. Now, while I thought that concept was really cool, scientifically the author didn’t explain it very well.

I also had issues with the love story. Now by issues I don’t mean I was angry, more like I was confused and maybe slightly grumpy. 😀  Pressia falls in love with one of her companions, Bradwell. And while I can see how she would be attracted to him, he was older, more mature and very smart, I couldn’t quite get how and why she fell in love with him. Or him either. Bradwell is a jerk. Smart. But a jerk. He often uses his words to hurt other people.  I just didn’t understand why they decided to go for a relationship.

I could go on to mention some more small points that I felt weren’t developed enough, but I’m not going to. They were minor points and overall did not really affect my feelings towards this book. I loved Pure. I gave it four stars on goodreads.

Has anyone else read this book? What did you think about it? Are you a fan of post-apocalyptic books? 

2 thoughts on “Pure – A Book Review”

Leave a Reply

