Top Ten Tuesday – Halloween Edition!

toptentuesday2

Today’s theme from The Broke and Bookish is Halloween Freebie! I’ve been seeing lots of cool posts, from talking about creepy covers, to book recommendations even for those who get scared easily!

So today I’m going to talk about the top creepiest books I’ve read this year. I don’t think I’ll get to ten because honestly I tend to stay away from anything that’s going to keep me up at night. But I hope you enjoy anyway!

1) Dead Girls Don’t Write Letters By Gail Giles: This book I picked up at random because it was small and the cover looked interesting.  It’s about a family whose daughter dies in a fire, but then awhile after her ”death” she writes a letter saying it was all mistake and she actually didn’t die.  The daughter comes home and the family soon realizes that she’s not quite like the daughter they remember.

3200723

2) The Graveyard Book By Neil Gaimen: A whimsical yet at times creepy story of a boy raised in a graveyard because he’s being hunted by a murderer. I loved this book a lot, but I was definitely scared by it at times. Nonetheless I would tell people to read it and I would read it again because the story is just fabulous.

2213661

3) The Orphan Master By Jean Zimmerman:  This book was almost too much for me! Set in 1663 in the colony of New Amsterdam, this story is about finding out who is killing the orphans of the town.  It was a bit long, but an okay book.  I won’t give too much away but the murderer is also a cannibal, so that was creepy.

12999143

4) Dracula By Brahm Stoker: Here’s a good book! Now this is a book I would read again, even if it I did find it creepy at times. Everyone should read this. 🙂

17352568

5) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children By Ransom Riggs: I loved loved loved this book. I loved the style, and the characters and the pictures.  About a young boy named Jacob, who sets off on a journey to Wales after the death of his grandfather. This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time, and I may have jumped a couple times as well. 😉

17162156

So there we have it. Five books from me. Don’t forget to put a link to your TTT post, I can’t wait to read it and comment! 🙂 

9 Comments

Leave a Reply

