FORTNIGHT OF FRIGHT 2015 – Book Review: Dark Carnival

FoF2014

This year I was able to write a post for A Fortnight of Fright, a blog series by A Book Addicts Guide and a two other lovely bloggers.  Fortnight of Fright is two weeks of Halloween themed posts written by tons of other bloggers and authors. Check out all the posts there’s been everything from book reviews like mine to recipes to movies written about.

20495362

Goodreads Synopsis: In this anthology, several authors and illustrators explore the dark and hidden dangers that lie within a carnival that has come to town. But it is no ordinary carnival. It’s The Dark Carnival.
And when The Dark Carnival comes to town, there’s no promise that anyone can leave…alive.

Contributors include: Kristen Strassel, Meghan Schuler, Claire C. Riley, J. Elizabeth Hill, Jessi Esparza, Debra Kristi, Ryan Bartlett, Michelle Ceasar Davis, Brian LeTendre, Ken Mooney, Eli Constant, Mari Wells, Lucas Hargus, Kat Daemon, T.A. Brock, Calyn Morgan, Emily McKeon, Gregory Carrico, Kristin Hanson, Nicole R. Taylor, C. Elizabeth Vescio, Brian W. Taylor, Kate Michael, Ezekiel Conrad, Jamie Adams, Bobby Solomons, Mark Matthews, Jamie Corrigan, Kristin Rivers, Kristen Jett, Sheila Hall, Suzy G, Kim Culpepper, Ruth Shedwick, J.C. Michael, Wulf Francu Godgluck, Ashly Nagrant, Amy Trueblood, Vanessa Henderson, Tawney Bland, Julie Hutchings and Stevan Knapp.

My Review: I heard about this anthology from watching some YouTube videos by the WordNerds. Horror isn’t something I usually read, unless Neil Gaiman writes it. But there was something about an anthology that interested me. I am a scaredy-cat,  movies with zombies or paranormal activity are hard for me to watch. But there was something about a collection of short stories that beguiled me. I guess I thought that horror in small doses would be okay.  I was both right and wrong.

THE DARK CARNIVAL was an amazing entry into the genre of creepy stories. I mean this collection has everything, people gone crazy, demons, aliens, and every story was completely different.  Each was unique in its own way.  I feel like the collection starts off with some of their less creepy stories.  I found myself thinking: “Oh this isn’t so bad.” HA! The stories definitely get darker further into the anthology. No spoilers but not everything you eat in the Dark Carnival is at it seems. 😉  I liked this anthology because it didn’t overwhelm in the way a novel would. There wasn’t too much creepiness that would give me nightmares, but just enough for me to put it down at the end of a story and peek out from my blankets to make sure I wasn’t going to die. 😀

I ended up giving THE DARK CARNIVAL four stars on Goodreads. I would definitely recommend this book to everyone, especially in this month of October. I promise, you won’t see carnivals the same way again.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Read, Write, Review, Repeat – October Wrap-Up | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

