Mini Reviews

My friend Cait from Paper Fury, does something called mini reviews once in awhile, which is a fabulous idea. And since I needed to catch up on my reviews I thought that I would borrow her idea. So here we are. 😀

The Sea – By John Banville

3656

Goodreads Synopsis -In this luminous new novel about love, loss, and the unpredictable power of memory, John Banville introduces us to Max Morden, a middle-aged Irishman who has gone back to the seaside town where he spent his summer holidays as a child to cope with the recent loss of his wife. It is also a return to the place where he met the Graces, the well-heeled family with whom he experienced the strange suddenness of both love and death for the first time. What Max comes to understand about the past, and about its indelible effects on him, is at the center of this elegiac, gorgeously written novel — among the finest we have had from this masterful writer.

My Thoughts: I picked this up because I thought it would be a short interesting read, and while I was right about it being short I wasn’t right about the other part. Instead of it being interesting I felt more like meh towards it. Although the prose is absolute beautiful I just couldn’t’ get into the story. I couldn’t feel for the main character and overall thought the plot was jumpy.  I gave this book three stars on Goodreads.

Fuse By Julianna Baggott

Goodreads Synopsis: To be a Pure is to be perfect, untouched by Detonations that scarred the earth and sheltered inside the paradise that is the Dome. But Partridge escaped to the outside world, where Wretches struggle to survive amid smoke and ash. Now, at the command of Partridge’s father, the Dome is unleashing nightmare after nightmare upon the Wretches in an effort to get him back.
At Partridge’s side is a small band of those united against the Dome: Lyda, the warrior; Bradwell, the revolutionary; El Capitan, the guard; and Pressia, the young woman whose mysterious past ties her to Partridge in way she never could have imagined. Long ago a plan was hatched that could mean the earth’s ultimate doom. Now only Partridge and Pressia can set things right.
To save millions of innocent lives, Partridge must risk his own by returning to the Dome and facing his most terrifying challenge. And Pressia, armed only with a mysterious Black Box, containing a set of cryptic clues, must travel to the very ends of the earth, to a place where no map can guide her. If they succeed, the world will be saved. But should they fail, humankind will pay a terrible price…

My Thoughts: Ugh! This was such a disappointment. I loved loved loved the first book, and so I was super excited to read this second book.  I found it so boring. The grittiness and realness of the first book was gone, everything seemed too easy in this book. The characters lost their uniqueness and became stereotypical YA characters.  If Goodreads let me give half stars this book would be a two and a half.

Poison By Bridget Zinn 

Goodreads Synopsis: Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.
But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart . . . misses.
Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?
Kyra is not your typical murderer, and she’s certainly no damsel-in-distress—she’s the lovable and quick-witted hero of this romantic novel that has all the right ingredients to make teen girls swoon.

My Thoughts: I laughed so hard reading this book. Talk about ridiculous and over the top. Reading this book I felt like I was watching a spoof movie. I honestly enjoyed this book a lot because I didn’t take it seriously at all. If you want to read a super lighthearted fantasy book, or just want something to read that you can laugh over. Read this book.  I wanted to give three and half stars, but as well all know Goodreads doesn’t like half stars.

So what are your thoughts? Have you read any of these books? 

1 thought on “Mini Reviews”

Leave a Reply

