More Mini Book Reviews

17875224

Goodreads Synopsis: Penemuel (Pen) fell from grace over a millennium ago, yet there are still times she questions her decision to follow her twin brother, Azael, to Hell. Now that the archangel Michael has returned, threatening Lucifer’s vie for the throne, she begins questioning everything she has always believed.
As Hell prepares for war – spreading a demonic virus and pilfering innocent souls to build an army – the lines separating the worlds blur. Fates erase and the future is left unwritten. Azael is determined that he and his sister will continue to serve as demons together, but for the first time in her life, Pen is not ruled by destiny. She has the freedom of choice.
With choice comes sacrifice, and Pen must decide which side she’s willing to risk everything fighting for: the light, or the dark.

My Thoughts: This was a fun book to read. I liked most of the characters. Micheal was very interesting. The plot wasn’t surprising, I pretty saw all the twists coming. But the writing was good. I enjoyed reading the story. I didn’t like the main character Pen, she didn’t make sense to me. And I thought the romance was really rushed and that annoyed me. But overall the story was fine. I would definitely try and read the second book. I gave it three stars on Goodreads.

319391

Goodreads Synopsis: Here is Jane Yolen and Robert Harris’s fictionalized account of the life of Mary Queen of Scots, told through the perspective of Mary’s personal jester, Nicola Ambruzzi. Through Nicola’s eyes we see the young Queen as she struggles with the death of her husband, King Francis of France; moves north to take over as ruling Queen of Scotland; marries Lord Darnley against the advice of her friends; and is later imprisoned and tried for his murder. The religious tumult that characterizes the time becomes the backdrop for an engrossing novel that weaves together the stories of the Queen’s fool (as she rises from poverty into court life), and Mary, who eventually descends into public scorn.

My Thoughts: I wish I could give this book three and a half stars, because it was a good book. It was a very interesting look at Mary Queen of Scots from the point of view of someone in her court. Really my only complaint was I wanted it to be more detailed and longer. 😀 The main character is a likable one, she’s brilliant and witty.

201054

Goodreads Synopsis: Jakkin 15 is a bond boy to dragon nursery keeper Sarkkhan on former prison planet Austar IV. In a secret oasis, Jakkin raises mute red fighting pit dragon Heart’s Blood, to fill his bond bag with gold and buy freedom. After exchanging blood on wounds, they can send mind pictures. Sarkkhan’s daughter Akki and old blisterweed addict Likkarn help them.

My Thoughts: This was a thoroughly fun book. I thought the world was really well done. The combination of a sci-fi but kinda fantasy world was really unique. If I had been younger I know I would have enjoyed it more. But as it is, I liked reading it. The dragons were my favorite. 🙂 I gave this book three stars on Goodreads, but I wish I could have given it three and a half.

 

So what are your thoughts? Have you read any of these books? If so let me know what you thought! 

Leave a Reply

