Body Hate

  1. I Shout

there’s nothing wrong with you

i whisper

to my my face that’s fat and full of acne

there’s nothing wrong with you

i whisper

to my curvy stretch marked thighs

there’s nothing wrong with you

i tell my stomach

just because you’re bigger than what i want

doesn’t mean you’re bad

there’s nothing wrong with you

i whisper

to my boobs that also have stretch marks

there’s nothing wrong with you

i shout to my body in the mirror

i’ve spent too long hating you.

I wrote this poem just minutes ago after reading a friend’s blog post.  Like so many others in this world, I look at my body and dislike my body.  And when I say dislike I mean I loath it, hate it. I’ve never felt comfortable in it. I don’t like looking at myself in the mirror.  Usually I all I can see is the fat that needs to be lost, the acne that needs to be cleaned, or the stretch marks that I wish were gone.

But enough negativity. That’s not what this post is about.

As I said earlier I read a post today about someone else’s struggle with body hate issues and I cried. I cried for myself. And for the hate that I’ve placed on myself.

Today for the first time in a long time, too long to actually remember, I looked at myself naked in the mirror and tried to love what I saw. And I think it was a little easier.

This isn’t to say that I didn’t see my imperfections.  I did walk away thinking: “I need to care for myself better. I need to eat better. I need to exercise more.”
But I didn’t shy away from what I look like.

image

5 Comments

  1. ❤ ❤ ❤ SO many feels.

    I started accepting my body more when I started doing things like clothing optional hot springs and boudoir / nude modeling.

    Fundamentalism, by not accepting the human form in all its glory, sans clothing, is body-shaming by default, I think. It's ingrained in us and takes so long to unlearn.

Leave a Reply

