NaNoWriMo Pep Talk

That’s right, a pep talk written by yours truly. 😀  And without further ado, here it is.

I’ve spent the last week trying to prepare for this, because I’m a perfectionist. I keep asking myself what do I want from a pep talk, what’s some advice I haven’t been given yet?

This is the 7th time I’ve done Nanowrimo, and only the third time I’ve won. I’ve read a lot of really good pep talks over the years. And so I guess today I’m not going to be able to say anything new, or even something super enlightening.  I’m just going reiterate something that I need to hear.

 

It’s okay for your Nano novel to be complete and utter crap. November isn’t the month for perfection. You can edit in the weeks after, or in next few months, or even next year.  Now is not that time.  Today you just need to write.

And don’t feel bad about what you’ve written.  Don’t compare your novel to the person whose blog you’re reading whose story and characters are coming along beautifully.  Your story is going to be okay. Your characters are fabulous.

Don’t compare your wordcount with the person who finished Nano on week 2.  Your word count, no matter if it’s 1,456 or 40,999 or whatever, is AMAZING.   
You are writing words to a story.  You are doing your best to complete this challenge. You are amazing.

 

There’s only five more days left of NaNoWriMo.  You can do this.  You can write to 50,000 words. And even if you don’t make it to the complete goal, don’t beat yourself up about it.  Relax, enjoy your story. Have fun.  That’s the real point of this month. 🙂

How are you doing this Nano? Tell me about your favorite part or character, I’d love to hear all about your fabulous novel. 🙂 

3 Comments

  1. This is a FABULOUS pep talk. *nods sagely* And I think something I always fall into the trap of is comparing my books to published ones. Like, “omg my book will never be as polished and smooth and seemless as that published one…” and then I go and faceplant in cake aND SOB. hehe. BUT!! It’s silly to do that. Because everyone’s writing journeys are different and also a ton of professionals work on published books. My first draft is a mess. And that’s okay!! You don’t have to get it right the first time, eh?!
    I’m in awe of you doing it 7 times!! This was only my 2nd year XD.

Leave a Reply

