Promoting Creativity: A Monthly Blog Series

And I’m back with another Promoting Creativity! 😀 I started this blog series just a bit ago, in the hopes of being able to promote fellow writers, dreamers and creators.  This time I have a wonderful fellow writer and artist, Abby

114bfac0-3bbf-4401-9900-d2f5d63f9281

1) Tell us a little bit about what you do. 

I am a high school student, a history enthusiast, a boxer, a writer, and sometimes a freelance graphic designer. Unfortunately, the first item on this list of titles has tended to engulf and starve the latter occupations almost to non-existence – but as they have still somehow managed to survive, I will attempt to describe my involvement with them. As a history enthusiast, I strive to seek the humanity in the darkest times; I strive to analyse current events through the pattern of past events. As a boxer, I strive to seek the limits of my spirit and stamina. Boxing is a beautiful sport: almost an art, but an art laced with savagery, pain and sweat. It’s not very pretty, but I write about it. As a writer, I can barely call myself a writer. I write infrequently: a few times per week at best. My novels are sad, undernourished children and my blog is rarely updated; my journals and poetry books receive slightly more attention. Regardless of these disappointing facts, I can never seem to completely let go of creative writing, for it has kept me alive. Finally, as an occasional freelance graphic designer, I am pursuing new opportunities. I am currently involved in some profitable business card ventures, (which require terrifying adult things such as invoices) but I also do some private blog design on the side.

2) When and why did you start writing? 

I do not remember when I began writing stories, but I have been writing in general since I was about four years old. Some of my first stories were something akin to fanfiction – mostly for the Redwall fantasy series. This would have been when I was close to seven years old, but I had been spinning stories in my head for much longer than that. From the beginning of my memory, I remember telling stories to myself. My sister used to read to me often when I was quite young, which instilled in me a passion for books. However, my brothers and sisters were all much older than me, and I was often alone inside of my head. This gave rise to the stories: stories of dragons, of faeries, of talking squirrels and rabbits and female kings and firebirds. I wanted to be a novelist for most of my childhood, but this dream began to wither as I entered adolescence and was replaced with more things more realistic and terrifying, such as “lawyer”, “history professor”, “economist”. “politician”, and “public policy analyst”. There is still a little flame in the dark recesses of my heart that would like to write novels.

3) Tell us about a project that you are currently working on that has you really excited.

556dbfe9-1229-4302-8759-80fd9bd5fbb0

You Can’t Win is a novel about a boy named Ivar. He is a Russian, an immigrant to NYC, an idealist, an inhabitant of the year 1989, and he is a boxer. I speak from through his mind of his experiences, of his little crew of club fighters, of the lights and hard canvas and taped hands and dried blood.

The pain rose to the edge of my skin, in the cracks and in the bruises. My vision was clearing, but my head was swelling with rage and sadness and there was blood on my eyes. I hoped that it was his blood, but I was probably wrong; I usually was. I usually am. I thought that my heart was filled with pieces of broken glass, and my lungs with water, and my gut with stones. But the stones had been his fists. It was the third fight that I had ever fought. [chapter 1]

Ivar wants to win with something because he has been broken down again and again. He pushes himself almost to the point of existential collapse, and it is here that he meets Jesus. I also have 50,000 from 2013 somewhere about a ghost on his post-kicked bucket list adventure, and I have considered writing about an undertaker who gets caught selling organs on the black market. Some more vague aesthetic clouds of stories like to float across my head, but lately my ability to write has taken up a hunger strike due to densely packed life schedules and paralyzing writer’s block. However, I have managed to write a slim volume of poetry this year and I am on to the next.
4) What are some of your goals for the future? 
My short-term goals are currently to survive this term and study the passion week of Christ of the four gospels. My mid-term goals are to train for fights and apply to universities. But my long-term goals? God knows; I definitely do not. I cannot see what lies ahead, but I know that it is likely to involve words, fists, and history. I suppose I could say that my goal is to find my goal.
25d3e47f-1f65-4ed9-b7e7-47d1a8745117
5) How can we support you? 
Pray for me, if you have the time. Thank you.
And don’t forget to follow Abby on social media! Her blog, tumblr, deviantart, and pinterest
2 thoughts on “Promoting Creativity: A Monthly Blog Series”

Leave a Reply

