Slowly Goes the Week

image

This week has been slow, but eventful in it’s own way.  Yesterday Grant and I went Christmas shopping, which ended up being a lot easier than I thought it would be.  Then we came home and wrapped everything and ended the night with a movie.

Christmas time has always been an interesting time for me. For while the season is cheery and festive. For me it often brings on depression and guilt and stress. I won’t get too much into that, as I don’t want to bore anyone.  I just wanted to say that this season has been one of the best in a long time.  I’m so thankful to have Grant with me, he knows how to put up with my mood swings so well.  And he knows how to keep me busy.

Because of him I was able to go above and beyond my reading goal for this year.  On the 17th I finished my 200th book! It’s been quite the challenge, but I made it and I had a lot of fun along the way.
image

Today was also productive.  Cait from Paper Fury was doing a rewrite challenge over the weekend on twitter.  So starting on Saturday I joined her by editing one of my old nanowrimo novels. I got a great head start from the weekend and felt inspired to keep at it till I finished the whole novel.  Today I did just that.  I reread it, switched two characters and then stripped away all the unnecessary fluff.  Tomorrow I’m going to have Grant read over it and then give me a couple plot holes to work on.

The story I’m working on is called The Piano Man. It’s set in the early 1930’s and is about a movie director who becomes obsessed with one of the actresses who works for him.  I wrote it in 2012 and haven’t really looked at it since that November. But I figured now was a good time to rewrite it and see if anything came of it.

So that was my week, how was yours? Did you do anything fun on the weekend? How’s your writing going? 

4 thoughts on “Slowly Goes the Week”

  1. I looooove the title of your book. :’) And so proud of you doing so well in the rewriteathon! Actually, I totally confess…the reason I was keen to start the rewriteathon over Christmas with Emily was because of Christmas stress. I get really bad anxiety around this time. Gah. It’s just…it’s very hard. So I like to distract myself with things like writing. 😛 Especially since I’m not really reading much at the moment because I did my end-of-year-book wrap up! So I feel kinda done?!? hehe. (I know that logic is weird.)
    CONGRATS on 200 books!!

    1. Thank you. 😀 I’m glad you like it, I’m kinda thinking about changing the title, but I love it so much. Thank you! It was really nice to get that head start into editing. That makes sense, Christmas stress is a real thing. I’d love to do another editing or writing challenge if you want to?
      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

