Promoting Creativity: A Monthly Blog Series

Wow! It’s been a month since last time already, and I’m super excited to be back and featuring our next writer, Maddie!

image

1) Tell us a little bit about what you do.

I think, I breathe, I sleep, I dream, I study, I… Oh, like creatively? 😉 I write, I read, I act, I blog, and I knit. I quote movies all the time, and break into spontaneous song when someone says something that reminds me of something else. No, don’t leave! I’m really not crazy, I promise!

2) When and why did you start writing?

The earliest piece of writing I have is from when I was 7 years old. It was about a mouse that sneaked out of his hole on Christmas to get some food. Yep, I know – really imaginative. When I was 9, my mom had this book with paintings and poems to be used as prompts for kids to use for writing. She told me and my sister to write a story based off of a certain picture of two boys trying to ride their dog. I was really excited about it, named the two boys after my dad and his brother, and bam! My first story was written. I guess it just kind of took off from there. And trust me, I’ve had better inspiration since then:)

image (1)

3) Tell us about a project that you are currently working on that has you really excited.

In September I introduced a writing help service to my blog. Basically what that means is if you are struggling with writer’s block or just can’t make it past a part in your story, you can fill out my form and tell me about what you need help with. I will send you prompts for as long as you need them. So far, no one has signed up, so if you check it out, I would really appreciate it!

4) What are some of your goals for the future?

I really hope to be published one day. I’ve never written a full novel, although I’ve started two. So publishing a whole book is a goal that probably won’t be realized until a little while down the road. Until then, I would really like to publish some of my short stories, flash fiction, and poems. I’m currently editing my favorite short story to be entered into a publishing contest. In January, I will begin a course with the Institute of Children’s Literature, and I’m really excited about that!

I’ve thought about opening a shop at the farmers market and selling some of my knitted items and maybe some short little poems. We’ll see!

Life wise, I just finished a CNA course and am studying for the exam. Once I am certified, I hope to get a job at the nursing home in town. I am also discerning if I should try to get into a Catholic acting college at this time, or if it should be something for the future.

5) How can we support you?

Like I said, you can sign up for my writing prompt service! It would mean a lot:) You can check out my blog and follow it.  Also, prayers really help. If you could pray for my future and life, that would be awesome!

Thank you so much, Abi, for having me!

 

Leave a Reply

