First Review of the Year – The 5th Wave

16101128

Synopsis: After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one. Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave. On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, until Cassie meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope for rescuing her brother and even saving herself. Now she must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. Cassie Sullivan gets up.

By: RICK YANCEY 

Published: May 7th 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Pages: Paperback 460 

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

My Review: 

This was definitely an interesting book, I can say without hesitation that it held my attention from a good 3/4 of the time. The plot was fast moving and did have some surprising twists.

Cassie, our main character was pretty badass, though at times annoying in her verbiage.   Carrying two guns, a backpack and a bear, we start by following her on the run. Alien have invaded our planet in waves.

The idea behind this form of alien attack is very interesting and unique. I loved it at the beginning, though there were some things I just didn’t buy.

As for the other characters, my favorite is probably Cassie’s little brother. He is adorable, nicknamed “Nugget”. His faith in his sister is just adorable. He made me like Cassie’s character more.
Zombie and Evan are the only other two characters that we really get character development on.  Neither of them I was fond of.   I wanted to read more about Teacup or some of the other kids who were with Zombie.

I hated the POV switching around. My main complaint was the book waited until almost the end of the first 1/4 before switching and I was caught of guard.  There was practically no consistency on when or why the POV was going to be switched. I would find myself reading a chapter only to realize a few pages in that we had indeed switched from Cassie to Zombie, or vise versa.  To me it felt like the writer started the book from Cassie’s POV and then got bored and moved to another character, and then would continue switching around whenever he got bored again.  It just felt poorly done.

As with most YA’s this book has a romance subplot that tugs on my gag reflex. Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE romance as much as the next person. But I like mine to be done well, with actual reason why you like someone other than they’re hot. Cassie’s crushes (she has two) are all googly eyes and butterfly feelings in the stomach.  And those just make me roll my eyes.

There was also a fair amount of redundancy. With passages like this:

“I saw the same setup in the corridors: the bomb shelter’s ventilation system. And I think, Cassie, that’s the bomb shelter’s freaking ventilation system.” 

I get that an idea is dawning on her, but really? Couldn’t different words have been chosen?

Or this: “Cassie?” Like he’s never heard the name before. “Zombie?” I say, because I really haven’t heard that name before. 

Yes, thank you Cassie. We know you don’t know this because you’re literally just meeting him after not seeing him for months and months.

It was things like that that made me end up giving The 5th Wave three stars on Goodreads.  The story is mostly entertaining, with okay writing and tolerable characters, but it’s nothing new.

 

Anyone else read this book? Let me know what you thought about it! 🙂 

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: End of the Month Wrap Up | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

