Beautiful People – More About Writing Goals

10928109_595959117172101_1450331761_n

Thank you to Sky and Cait for hosting! 😀

What were your writing achievements last year?  Well for starters I published my first book in 2015.  Freedom of April came out on amazon after months and months of me writing and working and polishing.   This is my one big accomplishment, other than that it was just like any other year. Plot bunnies galloping madly, me getting out a first draft here and there. 🙂

Tell us about your top priority writing project for this year? I actually have more than one, does that count? My top goals are these, in order. 1)Publish my short story collection. At this point we just need to go over the stories one more time then order the proof copy.  2)Publish my second poetry collection. I’m about 3/4 of the the way done with writing it.  3)Finish a novel and find an agent for it. This one is the last on my list because it’s the one I have the most work to do on, honestly this project is more of a two year goal.

List 5 areas you’d like to work the hardest to improve this year.  Editing, editing, editing, editing and editing.  Seriously. I really need to work on my skills as an editor. Both for myself and others. I haven’t sat down and edited one my stories in way too long.

Are you participating in any writing challenges? As far as I know only Camp Nano and Nanowrimo. But I’m always finding different challenges during the year. Please send me a challenge! 😀

What’s your critique partner/beta reader situation like and do you have plans to expand this year? I only have one beta reader and that’s my husband, he does an amazing job. But honestly I would love to have more. I need more writers in my life who understand my style and will challenge me and encourage me.  If anyone would like to become a beta reader for me that would be fabulous! 🙂

Do you have plans to read any writer-related books this year? Or are there specific books you want to read for research? Plans? I know no plans…Oh but seriously I have one writer’s help book that I read every year and that’s Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg. Other than that if I find a book along the way that I think will help me, I’ll read it.

Pick one character you want to get to know better, and how are you going to achieve this? I don’t have one. I know, astonishing right? Well actually understandable, it’s been awhile since I’ve fallen in love with a character because it’s been awhile since I’ve written a novel. November? Yeah, so I don’t know. I’ll get back to you guys on this one. 😉

Do you plan to edit or query, and what’s your plan of attack? Editing first! I have a few novels I’m going to take a look at and read over.  Then do some minor editing. Then have Grant read over them and go from there. If I actually finish editing something (and that’s a big if) then I’ll start looking into what I want in an agent and all that jazz.

Toni Morrison once said, “If there’s a book that you want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it.” What are the books that you want to see more of, and what “holes” do you think need filling in the literary world? There are always going to be holes and I am forever seeing one that I would like to fill. Retellings seem to be popular right now and I love that. I would love to write a retelling of the Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland, or Jane Eyre. But stop! Don’t let me think about it too hard, plot bunnies multiply fast. 😉

What do you hope to have achieved by the end of 2016? ALL THE THINGS. And worldwide adoration and love. Just kidding. At the end of this year I would like to look back and say: “I did the best I could with what I had.” If I achieve a feeling of accomplishment then it will be a fantastic year.

 

Beautiful People is fantastic and all of you should link up with me! Let me know what you think of my goals. Oh and if you already have written a BP post leave me a link, I’d love to read it and comment on your blog. 🙂 

11 Comments

  1. Oh I want to have that “I ACHIEVED AND HUZZAH” feeling at the end of the year too!! Last year…I mean, it was okay? But I really felt like I could’ve done better. And this year I have SO many projects I’m uber excited about, so that’s really motivating me to get a wriggle on. ;D I hope your editing goes well! Someone should host an editing NaNoWriMo type of thing because omg I find editing soooo haaaard. *collapses*
    GOOD LUCK with all these amazingness, Abi! ;D And thanks for joining in the linkup!

  2. I didn’t realize you had self-published a book last year! Congrats, Abigail. I’ll have to look into this. 🙂

    I agree, editing and revising can be brutal – and when it’s for your own work, it’s terrifying in a whole new way, because you never know if you’re missing something BIG. Just do what you can, and once you get a team of beta-readers and critique partners around you, hopefully you’ll feel more confident that you can bring your story to the level you know it deserves to be. 😉 Good luck!

    Here’s my BP post link, btw: http://saraletourneauwriter.com/2016/01/19/beautiful-people-vol-11/

Leave a Reply

