The Infinite Sea – A Review

18249281

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

Synopsis: Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race. Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.

I know, I know. I said I wasn’t particularly fond of the first book, but hey my library had the second so I thought “what the hell!” Which incidentally happened to be my reaction towards most of the book.

This was such an odd mixture of a book for me. On one hand I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see what happened to some of the characters, but on the other hand I was still rolling my eyes at so many things.

The Good: The minor characters. Read Teacup. Teacup is this little seven year old, trigger happy girl.  She melted my heart so many times, probably because she reminded of my sisters.  There’s also a big cliffhanger at the beginning of the book that had me panicking big time.  Also Poundcake’s story was heartbreaking.
Also I was pleased that the love triangle that I saw at the end of the first book did not end up happening!

The Bad:  I still hated the POV changes. I felt like it was too jumpy, and done purely for cliffhanger effects. Which can be okay but after awhile it gets annoying.  I didn’t like the main characters very much. Overall there was a serious lack of character development, the plot was confusing and didn’t flow well. And the writing was, as in the first one, juvenile sounding and poorly edited.

Final Thoughts: In the end I gave the book three stars because I unable to stop reading but at the same time wanted to throw the book away.

Have you read this book? What did you think about it? What are you reading these days? 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

