Finding Audrey – A Book Review

23305614

Goodreads Synopsis: An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

Wow! Seriously people what a book. I just finished it this afternoon and I really really enjoyed it.
Let’s start with the main character Audrey.  Sweet little Audrey suffers from extreme anxiety, she never goes out, she doesn’t have friends anymore and little things can send her into a spiral of fear.  I felt for her so much. As someone who deals with social anxiety (not as bad as Audrey’s) I immediately felt and understood her. That connection sucked me into the book and I had such a hard time putting it down.

Continuing on to the other characters I just have to say, what a well done group of people. The author, Sophie Kinsella, effectively made me feel something for each one of our characters. Whether it was empathy for Frank, the oldest son who has to deal with a school, a troubled sister and a crazy mom all at once. Or the Dad, who seemed to be trying his best to keep the family sane.  Or the little brother Felix because he was just an adorable kid.  Everyone grasped my attention and made me keep reading. Even the mom made me feel things.    She was a complicated character. On the one hand seriously crazy, at parts  I was so frustrated. Why wasn’t she getting any help? Because she needed it. And on the other hand she did a lot of sacrificial things for her daughter. I can see that it’s easier to judge when you’re on the outside looking in.  Mothers are a vital part of the family unit so it makes sense that the father just makes excuses for her crazy times, and then works harder to make things right.

From the synopsis it may seem like that romance is a big part of of this book. And while it is a large subplot, it is just that. A subplot.  The main focus of this story is about overcoming social anxiety.    Liuns, the love interest, is super cute. He’s funny and encouraging and he isn’t perfect either! Sometimes I get annoyed when the boyfriend is like this angel of perfection. This isn’t the case in Finding Audrey. Linus gets things wrong sometimes, he tries his best to help the girl he loves, but he doesn’t always understand what’s going on.

Reading the parts of the book where Audrey is talking with her therapist was so good for me. This book isn’t a how to or anything like that. But it did pose some reminders for me. It gave me ideas on how to push myself when I feel anxious. And also how to learn to take a step back and not obsess over moments in my day where I feel like I’ve messed up.

At the end I felt Audrey’s recovery was a bit fast. I would have loved this book to be a bit longer. I felt like her recovery was a bit like a light switch.  Suddenly she’s ”on” and feeling better.  I wanted to feel her knowing that she probably would never be perfect. When I finished the book it seemed like she didn’t realize that she would have good days, and bad days.   Had the book been longer it would have been perfect.

Still, at the conclusion I loved the book. I thought the plot was great, the characters fantastic and the overall story beautiful. I gave this book four stars on Goodreads.

Who else has read this book? Did you like it? Yes? No? Kinda? 😀 Let me know your thoughts! I love discussing books. 🙂 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

