Promoting Creativity – January Edition

I am so sorry for not posting this sooner! I’ve a bit out of things and I completely forgot about it.  Anyway for this month I ended up interviewing my husband, because he is also a writer, and a pretty fantastic one at that. 🙂
image

1) Tell us a little bit about what you do. 
I’m a writer. I am twenty years old, married, and am working on my third of my four year tenure at the University of Oregon in order to obtain a degree in journalism, with a minor in creative writing. I love writing in most any form, and especially when I get to create my own world. I have previously written a fair amount of fantasy, but recently have been writing more realistic fiction, and even some sci-fi.
2) When and why did you start writing? 
I started writing probably in 3rd grade. I remember sitting in my hallway doing schoolwork with my mom and being required to write sentences with my weekly vocabulary words, and we would write stories with the vocabulary words. After that I continued to write short stories for fun. They were childish but my mom encouraged me to continue, and over the years they matured with age. Then in 9th grade, I was introduced to NanoWrimo, and attempted to write my first novel. Now I have quite the collection of novels and short stories in various stages and styles waiting for me to come back to them and make them better.
3) Tell us about a project that you are currently working on that has you really excited.

I am currently working on two projects that I’m very excited about. One is a collection of flash fiction stories that I started about a month ago, themed around a futuristic train station. I’m trying to write one ever other day (300-400 words each) so that after about three months I’ll have a lovely collection that I can edit and publish. The second project is a novella about a parasite that preys on unconscious minds in order to take over their bodies. I’m super excited about both and hope they turn out well. I hope to have them both published a year from now.

4) What are some of your goals for the future?

My main goal is to publish one of something I’ve written every year for the rest of my life. It may not happen, but it would sure be awesome.

 5) How can we support you?

Besides buy my books? 😉 Well, you could ask to be put on the mailing list for my new Newsletter to stay in touch. I’ll hopefully be putting up my own website pretty soon, so look for that. In the meantime I have a blog that I should update more frequently. And tell my wife, who is also the authoress of this blog, that she is the most wonderful thing on the planet. 😉

Abi’s Note: I promise I didn’t make him say that last part. He’s just so sweet. 😀 

Thanks again for reading everyone! I hope you enjoyed it. Also if you know of anyone you’d like to see interviewed here let me know! I love hosting people on my blog.

Leave a Reply

