Saga vol. 1 & 2 – A Review

I know I’ve mentioned this comic series at least once here on the blog, but I wanted to do an actual review because I really enjoy this series.

Find on Goodreads here and here, and Amazon here and here.

Goodreads Synopsis: When two soldiers from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war fall in love, they risk everything to bring a fragile new life into a dangerous old universe.

So I’ve never really been into comics, mostly because I never read them as a kid.  But my husband Grant is really into comics and recently I just bought him the first in the Sandman series.  And since then I’ve been seeing other people mention cool series and I thought why don’t I take a look at one?  That’s the story of how I jumped into Saga and was sucked into an amazing series of awesomeness. 😀
Saga is the story of a young couple who’ve just had a child. They’re running from a war they’ve realized is pointless, and trying to find a safe place to raise their family. It’s set on in Sci-Fi featuring lots of cool planets and their inhabitants. Though I should note just quickly that is an adult comic. One of the reasons I’ve never read comics is because I mistakenly thought they didn’t have great story lines.  Saga has a fantastic story line, with relatable characters and great plot twists. My favorite character is Alana. She is so funny, with a badass side and a huge mothering heart. She kinda reminds me of me, only she’s way cooler. 😉  Her husband, Marko is also a great guy. He just wants to live happily with his wife and daughter and not be bothered by anyone.  The artwork for this comic is also beautiful, very bright. Grant has said it’s some of the most unique coloring that he’s seen in comic books.

To sum up I can not recommend this comic enough. You’ll love the characters and be on the edge of your seat, hoping that everyone makes it out alive. I gave it four stars on Goodreads. 🙂

 

6 Comments

Leave a Reply

