The Rest of Us Just Live Here – A Review

23830990

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

Goodreads Synopsis: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death? What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again. Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshiped by mountain lions.

This book was my introduction to Patrick Ness. I’ve heard his name a lot in YA, I mean who hasn’t heard of him? Anyway, I saw this book at my library and loved the cover so I sat down and read it.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here is a mixture of fantasy (gods and magic healing powers and vampires) and the story of a kid who just wants to get on with his life. High school will soon be over and then he will be off to college and while he desperately wants to get out his house he’s also scared of being unwanted by his friends.

The characters were definitely the best part of this book.  They were so easy to relate to and feel for. Each one of them had something that I could feel for so easily. I admit I was choked up once or twice.  The pressure and almost abuse that Mikey and his sister get from his mom and dad is heartbreaking. And while they are flawed, they also try so hard to move past their different illnesses.  Mikey’s friends Henna and Jared were also great characters. I really related to Henna and her problems with her parents. And Jared was just all around an adorable sweet character. The way he loves and takes care of Mikey is just so good.

The fantasy part of the story was all in the background, which made it a bit hard to follow. Which I guess is part of the point. I mean this book is about being normal. But at the same time several of the characters from the fantasy part had the same names and it was so confusing to keep them straight.  I couldn’t help laughing at these parts, they were so obviously a spoof on typical fantasy stories, it was pretty great.

It’s funny now that I’m thinking about the book again and how I felt, what I liked, what I didn’t like, I realize I liked it more than I thought.  Originally I gave it three stars, but now I’m giving it  four stars.  It’s a good book, easy read with great characters. If I had complaints about it I can’t remember them now.

If you haven’t read this book you should! Let me know what you think when you do. Who else has read this book? What’s your favorite book by Patrick Ness? 

2 Comments

  1. I liked this book but it’s far from his best in my opinion (and that’s coming from a huge Ness fan). It’s ill a fun, easy read though, and he definitely has a knack for likeable characters 🙂

    I much preferred the Chaos Walking Trilogy, A Monster Calls, The Crane Wife and More Than This though 🙂

Leave a Reply

