Attainable Goals? Or Goals That Make You Work Your Ass Off?

image

Goals. I have a really hard time with making goals, sticking to them and finishing them. If you’re a person who does well with goals and accomplishing them, please share your magic secrets with me!

A big question for me is how to create goals that actually help me.  I go back and forth. Sometimes making attainable goals, which mostly work, but sometimes I find myself finishing them easily and then being bored and saying “what next?”   So then I try to make really hard goals, something that I know I might not finish because I’m competitive and then I work hard for a long time. The problem with that though is burning myself out.

Lately I’ve going back and forth on my goals. I need to get writing done, but I have to balance my every day life with my creative life. But I can’t help thinking that there must be a balance for me somewhere. What do I need to do to make my goals work the best for me.

If you have any thoughts on this I’d love to hear them! What works for you? What kind of goals work best for you?

 

4 thoughts on “Attainable Goals? Or Goals That Make You Work Your Ass Off?”

  1. Hello! I think I am still learning the balance myself haha. So far, making really broad goals work best for me, and I see the most growth in them. For example, in 2015 instead of making a list of specific goals I wanted to achieve that year, I made one broad goal that encompassed everything I needed to work on. I decided to be authentically myself no matter the situation. I have never seen so much growth in myself than I did last year. So, I am taking that and applying it to my writing life and working on what would (if focused on) impact my writing career the most. I hope this helps if only a little bit 🙂 Best wishes!

  2. I have a hard time finding the balance too! between work, cleaning, groceries/eating well, social life, reading, exercising… the time fills up so fast & before I know it I’ve let something go in one area or another! I have been enjoying making weekly goals, such as run 5 miles a week or track calories 5 days this week, though February has not been a good month for that. So in short I don’t know – daily, weekly, monthly goals? Hard to say what works best for me. I try to find the balance – attainable, but just hard enough that I have to push myself a little more than I normally would to reach it.

    1. Yeah the balance is so hard to find. I suppose it’s just one of those things that I’ll be working on for my entire life.
      I feel like changing up goals is a good idea though. Do a monthly goal sometimes, and then others week by week? Idk, I can always try. 🙂
      Thanks for the idea! 😀

Leave a Reply

