I am Angry (A Manifesto) – Free Verse Poem

Today I watched a video on youtube that really put into words what I’ve been thinking and dealing with lately.  So I thought I would talk about it a little bit before I threw this poem out into the world.  I’ve mentioned before on here that my Myers Brigg personality type is INFP. This means I’m a very introverted, feeling and perceptive person. When I have feelings on something I feel it very strongly.  Which is sometimes hard to deal with, and my mood swings can be extreme, most often going from elation to depression easily.  As a kid growing up I was angry a lot, which often led to me saying horrible things to my family. As I got older I began to see and feel the effects of lashing out in anger. My relationships with my siblings got rocky, my mother and I fought a lot, and I began to see that this was something I did not like, so anger became an emotion I tried really really hard to repress.

Recently I’ve been feeling frustrated again, yes even angry. And I was upset at myself for it; anger is after all a bad thing right?  This means I should try not to feel anger right?
Well no.  The lesson I’ve been learning over the past few months is this: feelings are not bad or good. Feelings can make you happy or unhappy or make you do good or bad things. But in and of themselves feelings are not bad.  In fact repressing feelings and not dealing with them is a bad thing.

It’s been a hard lesson to learn, and not a fun thing.  But I’m learning that I feel things and I need to be able to feel all my emotions in order to process.   This means I also get to work on self-control, and that I get to learn how to process feelings without letting them take control of myself.   My biggest tool for processing feelings is writing.  Getting out my feelings on to a page where I can look at them and understand them is a big big help.   That all said, here’s one of the poems I’ve written recently. It’s an angry poem, and it’s probably going to piss some people off. But I felt like I needed to share it and talk about all of this.  Thanks for bearing with me. 🙂

Content Warning: Strong Language is used throughout.  

Yes I’m a woman

and yes I’m here to rant

because yes, I am angry

 

I’m angry because no one listens to anyone these days

not just the women

not just the gays

we don’t listen to each other

the only people who get heard are the assholes with the money and power

 

I’m angry because I see people every day wasting their lives

i’m furious with this generation

that sits around and works at walmart

thinking that living for themselves is enough

 

I’m angry with the church and it’s fucking patriarchy

i’m tired of being bullied

i’m pissed because they keep trying to put in a box ‘’for my own good’’

and think that they can just get away with it

 

I’m angry that I’m seen as less than

or seen as an emotion because i’m fed up

i hate it that my feelings and opinions and logic isn’t taken seriously

when men around me can say what they want and no one questions a thing

 

I’m angry because being classified as an angry feminist is a bad thing

because look no one takes me seriously if i’m not angry

no one gives a shit about what a feminist has to say

unless she pushes buttons and then she’s just labeled ‘’angry’’

like she doesn’t have the right to be pissed

 

I’m angry at slut shaming and fat shaming

i’m furious that we can’t just all get along

and i don’t know what else to do

but just be so fucking mad.

11 thoughts on “I am Angry (A Manifesto) – Free Verse Poem”

  1. WOW! I love this poem! Very powerful.

    I had to go through a very similar experience as you where I had to learn that all feelings are allowed. Feelings happen, and I feel them, and then I can choose how to act, but no feeling is “bad” or not allowed. And I’ve come further to learn that feelings are a really great way to figure out how I’m responding to life and to learn more about myself, what makes me happy, and what I can do to lessen suffering in myself and others in the world. But for a long time I felt like certain feelings weren’t allowed or else I’d just be another emotional woman.

    1. Thanks! I’m so glad you like it. I agree and relate so much with everything you’ve said. And it amazing that by tapping into my feelings I can learn more about myself. It’s been really…challenging but in such a good way you know?

  2. This is just what Father was saying this morning! He said that no emotion is bad. We just can’t let our anger consume us – basically like you said: Feeling angry is not wrong, but we have to be in control of it and all of our other feelings. He said some people come to confession and say that they have been angry, but that is not a sin. I’d been wondering about anger lately, too, and I am really grateful for what both of you had to say. I’ve found, too, that when I try not to be sad or upset or disappointed about something, the emotion bottles up and comes out in ways that I don’t understand. I have to think back and then I finally realize that it started because I pressed my feelings down and tried to not feel anything, and that’s why I ended up feeling other things without meaning to. I’m sorry that you have been feeling down lately! 😦 I’m here if you ever want to talk!

    1. Yes, I agree. I have the same problem. Often it’s not just purely my anger that makes me lash out, it’s when I’ve been bottling up the anger for a while to the point where it all explodes out.
      Thanks for commenting!

  3. All your emotions have a place and need both control and freedom. Learning to use them, learning to understand them brings strength, and freedom. I remember going through anger at your age, and for some similar things, and I am sad that you weren’t able to share this (with me) before now. Keeping sharing, keep releasing…with love.

  4. I also had to learn that my feelings are allowed and valid. I wrote a blog about my anxiety and panic attacks and for a long time I didn’t allow myself to feel them as being a valid emotion, but as something that was stupid and weak from my side. This didn’t go well for me on the long term and I finally went into therapy. It helped me to see that my feelings were valid as feelings and that was step 1 to getting better. Trying to block something for too long, when it comes to emotions, isn’t the right path. Opening up to yourself about feeling what you feel is very important. I do still bottle things up, but not for myself. I even learn to open up to others. It is a process and you never stop learning about it, I think.

    1. I never thought of anxiety as an emotion but it is…wow thank you for commenting. I have a lot of anxiety and I just feel so frustrated at myself for being silly and weak. But your comment has definitely given me something to think about.

  5. Mmmmmmmmm. This reminds me so much of my series about emotional hypothermia and learning healthier ways to be angry.

Leave a Reply

