The Whole by Contemplation of a Single Bone

26405103.jpg

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.  Publication Date: April 1 2016

Goodreads Synopsis: In this her second collection of poetry, Nancy K. Pearson explores the possibilities of recovery and transformation in a world where “words cease to matter.” The speaker attempts to reconcile the past–a past shadowed by depression, addiction and misdiagnosis. Pearson refuses to end in a place of relief, asking the question, “don’t we all /fall into aggregate darkness/for something?” Instead her poems meditate on the lyric of absence and fragmentation. Pearson’s poems are restless, unsettling and revelatory.

I decided to branch out a bit more with my NetGalley reading and do read some poetry.  This book was very interesting. I mean the title is fabulous.

Nancy Pearson’s book wasn’t exactly what I expected, but it is poetry. Every poet has a different idea of what makes sense and what goes together, and I think that makes it hard for the readers sometimes.  As for me I thought the poetry was very pretty. The descriptions and metaphors were beautiful and I loved the poems even when I didn’t understand them. That said, half the time I didn’t really know what the author was talking about.  The deeper meaning of the poems were often lost to me…Which was disappointing.  I’ve always been a big lover of poetry and I love finding the hidden nuggets within verse. But I couldn’t find them in this book.

I ended up giving The Whole By Contemplation of a Single Bone three stars. I received an copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

