Uglies – A Book Review

862160

Goodreads Synopsis: Everybody gets to be supermodel gorgeous. What could be wrong with that?Tally Youngblood is about to turn sixteen, and she can’t wait. Not for her driver’s license — for turning pretty. In Tally’s world, your sixteenth birthday brings an operation that turns you from a repellent ugly into a stunningly attractive pretty and catapults you into a high-tech paradise where your only job is to have a really great time. In just a few weeks Tally will be there.
Anticipating this happy transformation, Tally meets Shay, another female ugly, who shares her enjoyment of hoverboarding and risky pranks. But Shay also disdains the false values and programmed conformity of the society. She’d rather risk life on the outside and urges Tally to defect with her.
When Shay runs away, Tally learns about a whole new side of the pretty world — and it isn’t very pretty. The authorities offer Tally the worst choice she can imagine: find her friend and turn her in, or never turn pretty at all. The choice Tally makes changes her world forever.
Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

I finally got around to re-reading this book. The first time I picked up Uglies was when I around 15? So I didn’t really remember much of it, but I wanted to read the rest of the series.  What else was there to do but re-read the first book! 😀

First off I really like the world that Uglies is set in.  I’m a big fan of Dystopian lit, especially in YA.  I think it’s super interesting that all the different sets of people (children, young adults and older people) are all separated. I wish that Westerfield would have more details on how that all works.  But hopefully there’s more world-building in the next book.  I liked the world of the Smoke. I liked hearing Tally’s thoughts about how the world worked before.

Secondly characters. Tally, our MC, is a great character.  I love that she’s not all out to save the world, or someone whose so sure there’s something different and better than her life.  I feel like too often in Dystopian we have these characters.  I really liked it that Tally was content.  She liked her life, or rather she liked what was going to be her life in just a few short weeks.  Tally felt normal to me and because of that I connected to her.   Strangely other than her I didn’t really care that much for the characters. Tally’s new found friend Shay is annoying.  Though I can understand her restless nature.   David, the boy she meets is okay.  He’s a good kid but I didn’t really connect with his character.

The plot definitely kept me reading, I wasn’t super surprised with anything but that was because I had already read the book. And the more I read the more the story came back to me.  But that wasn’t a bad thing.  Uglies is a fun read.   I ended up giving it three stars on Goodreads, but I wanted to give it 3.5.

 

Who else has read this book? Tell me your thoughts on it! 🙂 

5 Comments

  1. I have not read it, but I might add it to my list! I’ve become more critical of YA literature lately (possibly in part due to discussions about the problems in the Hunger Games with my husband). I find this unfortunate, because there are still a lot of great YA books out there!

    Started reading The Lowland, which is Jhumpa Lahiri’s new book 🙂 So far I would recommend it!!

  2. Pingback: Pretties By Scott Westerfeld – A Review | Rambling Writer

Leave a Reply

