Reading YA Pt2: The Possibilities Are Endless

It’s taken me forever to right this post because it took me forever to decide why I even read YA lit.   And the answer just came to me seconds ago whilst reading Paper Fury’s latest post.  So why do I read YA? In my first post I complained a lot about YA and then said at the end I was going to talk about reading what you love.  But I’m not going to write about that today. Today I’m going to expand more on why I do like reading YA.

Why do we read?  For most of us, me included, reading is a form of escape.  We read to travel to other worlds, to become the hero, or simply to get away from normal life for a bit. Reading is and always will be the most magical thing that I can do.  It’s a form of immortality, being able to live a thousand lives all while sitting at home and drinking tea.
And this is why I love YA.  Because the possibilities are endless.

I mentioned in my first post that YA made me fall back in love with reading.   But the longer explanation is this.   YA lit is much more personal than a lot of classical books. First off the language is more modern, the characters sound like me.  They say and do a lot of the things that I do or could do. That immediately gives me a much stronger tie to them than in some classic books.  It’s no longer me reading a book.  It’s me becoming the character.   I love love love this.   As a INFP personality feelings are things that I feel very strongly.  I may even be a bit addicted to feeling things.   So when I can become a character in a YA book suddenly I’m feeling the story on a whole new level.  I’m able to see the world from a different perspective. Which brings me to my second point.

YA books aren’t all about stupid teenagers pinning in love after someone.  Period.  Don’t ever say that.   Yes some YA books are romances (which isn’t a bad thing) and yes YA books are about teens.  But that doesn’t invalidate the book’s ability to teach something. All of my favorite books teach me something. That’s mostly what I look for a in a book.  A new perspective, a new idea. And I have found this in YA books.  I think that to stereotype YA literature is a very naive thing to do.  It’s hard because sometimes I feel like people judge me for reading YA.   I mean I’m almost 21, married and an adult. Shouldn’t I be reading more ”serious” things.     But I’m learning not to let this get to me.  Firstly because many YA books have very serious topics (like mental illness, racism or homophobia) and secondly why should I care? They have a right to judge just like I have the right to read.

I guess my point is this.  I need to learn to not judge YA so harshly and remember why I love it.  Reading is and always should be fun. And I hope you always have fun reading as well. 🙂

So why do you love YA? 

6 Comments

  1. I love that feeling too – feeling like you are the character, or experiencing the scenes through the character. This is one reason I love autobiographies or memoirs so much (Wild by Cheryl Strayed, or The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls). I really feel like I’m going through their life with them.

    I notice a lot of adults get embarrassed when they “admit” to me that they like YA fiction, and I always try to affirm that choice and preference. After all, reading, for a lot of people, is what we do for fun and escape, so I’m a supporter of reading what you love – whether it’s books from your childhood, classics, romance, or YA. But you come to a good point – the possibilities are endless in YA, and that is truly what I love about it. I guess it’s why I like science fiction too – I like how these books take an idea like, “What would happen if the world were like this…?” and make a story about it that I can connect with.

  2. YESS THIS IS A FANTASTIC POST! And actually I have a whole post outlined and needing to be written about why I read YA. 😛 It is an excellent topic *nods* And I read it for these reasons too…because it’s relatable?! Like I was 17 once…but I haven’t been 33 and married and divorced and have 2.5 kids, or whatever that usually happens in adult books. I mean, not ALL adult books are like that either. But I often find it’s easier to look back at someone I was rather than try to envision myself as someone older? If that makes sense? ALSO. I like how YA is so much more concise! I pick up a 300-page book and can devour it in a day. And adult books can be scarily huge. :O Plus I think YA is just more…magical. For some reason. *hugs the precious YA books*

  3. Great post! I tend to be selective about my YA reads, mostly because I prefer certain genres (fantasy, historical fiction, science fiction) over others (contemporary, mysteries) in general. But most of the YA I do read, I really enjoy it. If the story itself is good, the writing is strong, and I learn to care about or can relate to the protagonist in some way, then the book has done its job. It’s basically the same “qualifications” I have for any book I read.

Leave a Reply

