Daughter of Smoke and Bone – My Feelings Are Torn

8490112

Goodreads Synopsis: Around the world, black hand prints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky. In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grows dangerously low.And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherworldly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real, she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”, she speaks many languages – not all of them human – and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When beautiful, haunted Akiva fixes fiery eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

It’s been almost a month since I finished this book and still every time I think about it my brain explodes a little bit.  Like where do I even start?  There is a lot about this book that I love.  In fact right up until the last fourth of the book I was going to give it four stars.  I love the world, it’s colorful and imaginative.  The book is set both in the real world in Prague and in a fantasy world.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone has angels and all sorts of creative chimaera (mixes of animals and humans).  Karou is a human being raised by a group of chimaeras and she spends her time half between art school and half hunting down teeth for the people who raised her.  Yes I said teeth.  We don’t learn till later that teeth of animals and humans are used with magic to create new bodies for the chimaera.  How cool is that?

I really liked that the angels and chimaera are at war and I like that you get to see things from both the chimaera and angel’s perspective. The war has been going on for so long and it’s really sad.  Though on that note I did dislike the POV changes.  I just don’t prefer it in general so I tried to ignore it and just like the story.  I really liked Karou’s character and her friend Zuzana.  I didn’t really like Akiva he spends his time moping about and is just generally lame.

So I loved the book and then the big plot twist was revealed and I was…surprised? Shocked? Appalled. All of the above.  I really disliked it.  I just…

SPOILERS DON’T READ IF YOU HAVEN’T READ THE BOOK YET.

I didn’t like Madrigal, I just didn’t like her character at all.  And I loved Karou and so for her and Madrigal to be the same person was just…terrible. They can’t be the same person they felt so different, and now they’re the same? I just didn’t buy it. Didn’t like it…I felt disappointed and cheated.

END SPOILER.

So in the end I gave it 3.5 stars because I really liked a lot of it, and I’m reading the second book because I want to see how it all ends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

