Bone Gap – A Review

22535489

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

Goodreads Synopsis: Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps—gaps to trip you up, gaps to slide through so you can disappear forever. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. After all, it wasn’t the first time that someone had slipped away and left Finn and Sean O’Sullivan on their own. Just a few years before, their mother had high-tailed it to Oregon for a brand new guy, a brand new life. That’s just how things go, the people said. Who are you going to blame?
Finn knows that’s not what happened with Roza. He knows she was kidnapped, ripped from the cornfields by a dangerous man whose face he cannot remember. But the searches turned up nothing, and no one believes him anymore. Not even Sean, who has more reason to find Roza than anyone, and every reason to blame Finn for letting her go.

This book was really cool. Even though I only gave this book 3 and a half stars I did really enjoy it.  First off the prose was just great, I loved the way that Laura Ruby wrote the whole story. It’s a mix of fiction and fantasy and it’s super cool. I can honestly I’ve never read a book like this before.

The characters are also really great. Finn is such a great kid, a good kid without drama or pretentiousness.  Roza is a Polish woman whose immigrated to America and I really liked her. She cooks and is super sweet. 😀  I also really liked Petey, the girl who Finn likes whose a bee keeper. I mean how cool is that? I just really liked the super amazing cast of characters.

And then the ending was pretty good. There was times I was a bit confused. Because it’s a bit of an odd mixture, I’m still not sure what the genre of the book is.  I really liked what happened with Finn and how it explained how he couldn’t tell who Roza’s kidnapper was. To me the ending felt a bit rushed, but maybe if I read it a second time I would like the book more.

So yeah I read 3.5 stars, I liked it and would probably read it again. Anyone else read this book? Let me know what you thought! 🙂 

 

Leave a Reply

