What I’ve Read Recently

This has been a cool month of reading so far! I was thinking about doing individual reviews for all these books but then decided I was going to get too far behind. So I’m just going to do some mini-reviews. 🙂

Pavilion of Women by Pearl S. Buck: I’ve already read this book before, but I loved it so much that I bought it. Pearl S. Buck is my favorite historical fiction writer, and I highly recommend this book if you want a good story + some cool insight into the Chinese lifestyles pre WW2. I gave this book 4 stars.

A History of Pagan Europe Prudence J. Jones & Nigel Pennick: This book was super good and super interesting. It mapped out all of the different non-christian religions, from their starting point to modern day. Talking about deities and holidays and what happened to them once christianity became the common religion. I gave this book four stars and I’m hoping to own it someday.

Days Of Blood and Starlight By Lani Taylor:  The second book in this series was okay, I gave the book 3 stars because the world is still super cool. I just don’t like Karou anymore and I didn’t give a fig about Akiva.

Sex Criminals by  Matt Fraction:  Since reading Saga I’ve been a little bit addicted to graphic novels. This one comes highly recommended by a lot of the same people who love Saga. I gave it 4 stars because it’s pretty good and I was able to connect with the main character. I didn’t love the story like I was hoping too, but I’ll read the next volume.

Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Lani Taylor: I finally gave up on the trilogy with this book. I stopped caring for the main characters, I skimmed most of the story because it dragged out for way too long. I hated the romance that ends up happening with Ziri because I loved him and he deserved way better. Plus it came out of nowhere and didn’t make any sense. I liked the character Eliza up until the point where she sprouted wings, honestly I just wanted to read a book about a cult whenever it was her POV in the story. I gave this book 2 stars.

Alex + Ada by Jonathan Luna. Oh my gawd this is an amazing story!! Full five stars. I loved the main character Alex and Ada is adorably sweet. I can’t wait to get the next volume because I must keep reading!  You need to read this too. Go. Now. Why are you waiting? 😀

So that’s my reading update!! What have you been reading this week? Anyone else in love with Alex + Ada? I need to fangirl. 😀 

 

8 Comments

Leave a Reply

