Dark Triumph – Definitely Better Than the First Book

18222819

Goodreads Synopsis: The convent views Sybella, naturally skilled in the arts of both death and seduction, as one of their most dangerous weapons. But those assassin’s skills are little comfort when the convent returns her home to the life that nearly drove her mad. And while Sybella is a weapon of justice wrought by the god of death himself, he must give her a reason to live. When she discovers an unexpected ally imprisoned in the dungeons, will a daughter of Death find something other than vengeance to live for?

Find on Amazon and Goodreads. 

I am so so so glad I read this book.  On the 7th I reviewed the first book in the His Fair Assassin trilogy, I mentioned at the end of my fairly negative review that I was going to try the second book. So here I am!

Dark Triumph was in every way a triumph compared to the previous book.  Our main character Sybella is intelligent, easy to connect with and well developed. From the start I liked her character. She has a lot to lose and a lot to fear but she doesn’t let any of that keep her down. Her story is very realistic and at times a bit disturbing, but I like a good dark back story. Without giving away spoilers let’s just say her family is massively screwed up.

The plot of the book was also really good, it kept me on my toes. I was always excited or nervous to see what was going to happen next.  This book brings in some minor character from the first and fleshes them out more.  We have more time with the Beast, whom I enjoyed from the first book.  Ismea is in a few scenes, which I didn’t really like because her character annoys me.

We had higher stakes in this book.  I loved the way Sybella was at odds with the convent and the mother superior. Though I still don’t understand what’s up with the convent. It’s kind of confusing, maybe I have to read the third book in order to get the whole picture. I just never knew whose side the convent was on.  Though on a different note, we got to see a different convent in this book, these nuns served a water god and that was really cool.

The only thing I could have done without was the romance. At times it was sweet and cute, but I also felt like it didn’t fit Sybella. Why don’t we have more characters who decided to be on their own for awhile? YA diversity needs to get on that one. 😉

But in the end I gave the book 4 stars. Go read it. Read it now.  😀

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

