Rat Queens – Badass Ladies and Fun

20299683.jpg

Goodreads Synopsis:  Who are the Rat Queens?

A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all god’s creatures for profit.

It’s also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

Find on Amazon and Goodreads.

Guess what I found a copy of at my library? If you guessed the first volume of the Rat Queens then you have guessed right! 😀   Ever since reading Saga I’ve been find all sorts of awesome graphic novels on Goodreads. Rat Queens was one that I’ve been dying to read it. The story was even better than I thought it would be, probably because I try to keep my hopes low. Rat Queens are a great group of hired killers, all girls from magic welders, to a healer to a little sneaky dwarf.  The girls are hilarious. Each one of their personalities is unique and interesting.  The story was maybe a bit predictable, but I didn’t really mind because I was enjoying the rest of the comic so well.  The art is also really fantastic, lots of bright colors and I fell in love from page one.
Just an FYI this is an adult comic, so if you don’t like mentions of drugs or sex or language then you probably won’t want to read this. I found most of the scenes with these amusing, but that’s just me. Rat Queens is fast-paced and full of adventure, and I’m going to own this entire series someday. 😀 I gave this book 5 stars, though if Goodreads would just add half stars I would give it 4.5.

Anyone else read Rat Queens? Please say yes I’m dying to fangirl with someone.  If you haven’t you should, then come back and fangirl with me .  Oh also, I’d love more recommendations for other graphic novels! No superheros please. 😉 

 

2 thoughts on “Rat Queens – Badass Ladies and Fun”

Leave a Reply

