Magnus Chase – Funny But Long

15724396

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

Goodreads Synopsis: Magnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.
One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.
The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.
When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.
Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

I was super super excited to read this! I love Rick Riordan’s books, I thoroughly enjoyed the Percy Jackson series and the Kane series. And Norse Mythology has some of my favorite myths ever. That said I started the book with a lot of anticipation.

For the most part Magnus Chase does not disappoint.  Magnus is hilarious; I loved his sarcastic humor. He’s also a dork, and he’s dead.  His whole story is great. I also really liked the gods. From Greek to Egyptian to now the Norse myths, I appreciate that Riordan has been able to write all the gods and give them all different personalities. The world, Valhalla, everything felt different new and exciting. Magnus’ friend Valkyrie Sam is also a great character. Daughter of Loki and also a Muslim, I thought she was awesome and badass. I’m really hoping that she has a bigger part in the second book.

So why, you ask, did I give this book 3 stars? Well because the book was just way too long. At 499 pages the story just felt like it would never end. For the first 250 or so pages it was fine. There’s adventure, there’s running around and fighting. But then it’s the same thing over and over again.  Magnus needs a sword to stop the end of the world, but of course can’t get it unless he talks to God A. But God A won’t give it to him until he gets something from God B.  It goes around and around till the end of the book. I got bored halfway.  Am I the only one who felt this way? Besides this I did enjoy the book. I gave it 3 stars on Goodreads, which I felt wasn’t a bad rating.

Who else has read Magnus Chase? Who was your favorite character? What did you rate this book? 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

