Update On Mourning

I’ve been avoiding this post for awhile, but when I sat down to journal about it today I realized I shouldn’t be.

The reason I’ve been avoiding this is because I thought I was going to be able to publish Morning soon.   I’d already finished it, edited and was waiting to put the final touches on it when I decided to completely rewrite the entire chapbook.  Mourning had been in the works for almost a year and I felt bad that I had delayed it longer.

Then after rewriting and letting it sit for a bit more I realized I wanted to rewrite it again.   The meaning of the story, the meaning behind mourning was changing so much I decided to split it into two separate chapbooks.

 

So why should I be upset about this? I know by changing things I’m making Mourning better. Mourning does not have a place in my life right now, but it will again I’m sure. For now that part of the chapbook needs its rest.

 

What I’m working on now is called A Mad Woman’s Voice, and it only has about five of Mourning’s poems and seven new ones.  It’s still in it’s baby stages but it’s so good. I can feel it.  I really feel like I’ve been able to stay what I want/need to say.  I will get this chapbook done eventually and I willpublish it.  It’s going to take a bit longer but that’s ok.  Poetry evolves. That’s just the way it is.  Poetry is a living, growing art form and that’s ok.

2 Comments

  1. That sounds like an amazing process, but I can imagine that it feels like taking steps back. Like you felt like you’re almost done with it, and now you’re not. I’m sure once you finish it you’ll feel better about it though!

Leave a Reply

