The Invoice – An Unfortunately Dull Book

27245980

Goodreads Synopsis: A passionate film buff, our hero’s life revolves around his part-time job at a video store, the company of a few precious friends, and a daily routine that more often than not concludes with pizza and movie in his treasured small space in Stockholm. When he receives an astronomical invoice from a random national bureaucratic agency, everything will tumble into madness as he calls the hotline night and day to find out why he is the recipient of the largest bill in the entire country.

What is the price of a cherished memory? How much would you pay for a beautiful summer day? How will our carefree idealist, who is content with so little and has no chance of paying it back, find a way out of this mess? All these questions pull you throughThe Invoice and prove once again that Jonas Karlsson is simply a master of entertaining, intelligent, and life-affirming work.

Find on Goodreads and Amazon.

 

I’d never heard of this book before seeing it on the Blogging for Books website. But after reading the synopsis I decided it was just my type of book.  A character/life study. A book with an eccentric or at least atypical main character. What could go wrong? Everything apparently.  

The Invoice is the dullest book I’ve had the misfortune to read in awhile. While the writing isn’t bad, the plot is both predictable and boring and the main character…bland? I honestly hated the main character. He does nothing. He’s had every chance in life to actually do something with himself and yet has done nothing. He seemingly has no motivation or drive. Even at the end of the book when he’s been taught this ”lesson” he’s made no change.  I just didn’t see the point in him.

Besides hating the main character, I also very much disliked the plot. I was expecting a delightful story that would bring some new insight or inspiration for life and bring me to contemplate something about not taking life for granted.  What I got was a cliche mess of allegories. I like to be made to think, but I like to do it on my own. I don’t like authors writing messages that shout at me from every page.

In short I gave this book 1 star on Goodreads, I do not recommend it and I will not be reading it again.  I was given a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair review.

 

 

Leave a Reply

